Being lazy…

I know.  I didn’t blog ALL month.  Too many things to do and not enough time.

For starters, my family moved, so you can imagine how much stress is involved with moving and packing and unpacking.  I’m still not done unpacking, but that’s mostly because I haven’t been able to find space for all my stuff.  I still have clothes in garbage bags, as I had no other way to pack them (all the laundry baskets were already being used.  So, once I go through them, I may  end up donating a whole bunch as I either don’t wear them anymore or they don’t fit.  I never thought of myself as having a lot of clothes, but I have a lot of stuff.  It doesn’t help that my new room is small, but that the bed is not centered in the room and I don’t have at lot of room at my desk (I can’t even push my chair out to stand up).  Instead, I have a whole bunch of space on the other side of the bed by the closet, where I’m keeping all the stuff I haven’t unpacked (mostly clothes and miscellaneous stuff).  I keep my Tau and Cygnar in the closet too, and having a Battlefoam 1520 pack for Tau takes up a lot of space.  I happen to LOVE my Tau.  A lot.  So, my family has basically downsized, and most of the stuff has been shoved into the garage in a relatively organized matter.  Well, it started out organized with all the boxes, but then we have all the blankets and towels that we can’t put in the boxes, only in garbage bags, so that’s uneven and one big pile in the garage.  Then there are no boxes with lids, which makes it frustrating because it would be so much easier if there were lids because we could stack them out of the way.  So, yeah, moving sucks.  A lot.  My lizard stays in my room now, and sleeps most of the day and evening, although she should be awake as I’m writing this.

School has been overwhelming.  I barely managed to understand the first chemistry class I took, and now I don’t understand this one at all.  Physical science has never been my strong point; only biological science.  There are some reports I haven’t turned in, and I’m hoping to get them done before the end of the semester and still get some credit from them.  The move has made me so busy and even after the official moving day, we still went back to pack more boxes.  That tells you alone how much stuff we had.  I offered some stuff to friends, but no one wanted anything.  Most of the stuff has been donated or thrown away, as those are the only remaining options for a lot of the stuff remaining in the house.  And now that most, if not all, of the stuff has been moved (or thrown away or donated), the remodeling can continue: paint, new floors, new carpet.  It’s a lot of work, and the painting was recently completed.  There were a lot of problems with the color because the real estate agent wanted something more “modern,” as we had lived in the house for 15 years and never repainted anything.  So, brand new color for the house: a really light yellow, which seems to be a trend in today’s homes on the market.  At first I didn’t like it because the first room that was completed has the least amount of light in the room, so the color looked really dark.  However, in the other rooms (ones with more light), the color didn’t seem so bad.  The plan is to take out the the carpet in the formal dining room and living room (where there is a grand piano) and add in hardwood floors.  The problem: the grand piano.  You can’t remove carpet nor put in hardwood floors around a piano so it’s getting moved to my sister’s house, who also recently moved into a new place.  So, you can imagine the hell I’m going through trying to maintain my sanity, finish homework, and somehow find a job.

I look forward to the summer – I have plans to take a class (ONLINE!), so I won’t do much driving except to work, provided that I have one that works me more than my current job.  Basically, there’s still a lot to get done and there’s just not enough time to do it all.  I need better time management, and unfortunately, I have to learn it the hard way.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on May 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
