Springing forward…

For the most part.  I’ve adjusted to the time change, but I really would like my hour of sleep back.  I’m up so late every night trying to get things done and I have to get up so early in the morning for class that I never get enough sleep anymore.  Morning classes have 2 benefits: parking is always available and it leaves me an open schedule in the afternoon to do other things.  Getting up early SUCKS.  And all I’m thinking about in class is either food, sleep, or both.  Usually both.

Nutrition has been relatively easy; I’m not worried about this class.  Chemistry has always been one of my biggest fears in science, mainly because I’m not a good lab person and it takes me a long time to really understand the concepts.  And a lot of the concepts stack, so not understanding one thing can make everything else afterwards difficult.  Even with a previous chemistry class, I still struggle with the simplest things like balancing chemical equations.  I’m horrible with formulas, but at least we don’t have to actually memorize anything because it’s all provided on the tests.  At this point, it makes me wonder if staying in the class is worth it; if I can get away with a C in the class, I will be very happy because it means I can take the next class.  That is, if I actually take the next class.

I’m still debating if I want to apply to the entomology program at UC Davis.  Insects have always been my first love, even before I discovered pharmacy.  It’s also one of the best programs in the nation, AND I get to travel and collect bugs (although more likely for the PhD students).  I’ve always been told to do what you love and what makes you happy.  Pharmacy makes money, but will I be happy?  Bugs have always made me happy (they don’t talk back, unlike patients).  If I do really well in entomology, it would be a dream to work at the Smithsonian and work with bugs all the time.  There are just so many things I want to do and at this age, I should be deciding soon because it could determine what I do for the rest of my life.

I’m still jobless, even though my super part-time job has its share of satisfaction (knowing the kids and having them know you).  Most kids are pretty good and their work habits are somewhat predictable (after being around them for over 6 months).

The rest of the semester is going to suck.

Until next time…

PS.  CANNOT WAIT FOR SPRING BREAK

~ by twilightmelfina on March 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
