The Hassles of Job Hunting…

There is going to be a lot of ranting and griping about my job hunt, which has mostly been unsuccessful.  I know that finding a job isn’t easy, and finding a job that you are actually trained to do and went to school for isn’t easy either.  The economy is supposedly “improving,” and job websites say that pharmacy is one of the fastest growing health care occupations.  Of course I know this.  I’ve done my research.  Except that the hospitals in the area aren’t hiring and retail stores are too consumed in competing with each other.  It’s frustrating, I know.  And with the schedule I have, squeezing in a second job while I have classes 4 days a week doesn’t help either.  I didn’t go to school to become a pharmacy technician only to sit around for over a year without any success.  I happened to be at the top of my class (or so I believed I was), and did well on the national exam (perfect score in one of the sections).  What I think is that when pharmacies see that I have a bachelor’s degree, I’m expected to ask for more money, which probably part of their normal thinking process.  Yes, I would like to have more money to compensate for the fact that I have a bachelor’s degree, but it doesn’t mean that I’m not willing to compromise my salary.  You just have to talk to me.  Not offering me an opportunity to interview only makes it more difficult because it’s impossible to get the idea across that I’m willing to compromise the amount of money I am paid in a resume.  It makes me frustrated because I know I’m capable and knowledgeable and I don’t get the opportunities to prove that.  The VA would gladly hire me; they appreciate the few hours I put in every week and clear the counters of prescriptions and get other things done so actual employees that focus on more important things.  But, as I have been told, they have a hiring freeze, so I can’t count on a job through them any time soon.  I recently found out that Kaiser requires additional classes before working as a technician, so it makes me wonder what I spent a year in school for if I’m stuck taking more classes just to work.  *sigh*

I guess that’s enough ranting for now.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on February 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
