Back to school…

I suppose this could be a rant since there’s a lot on my mind.  School has officially started, and while I am disappointed to be only taking one class, I didn’t have much of a choice.  I know it’s going to take me longer with what I’m doing and how I’m doing it, but with respect to what is going on around me, I’m doing my best to accommodate the people that mean the most to me besides my boyfriend: my family.  Yes, I can multi-task, but I can’t do everything.  Even though I don’t work, there still doesn’t seem to be enough time to get everything done.  I would like to work, mainly the reason why I started taking classes at night to work during the day and hopefully make it to class on time.  However, the jobs don’t always work that way.  Even though only the first week of school has passed, all the jobs I’ve looked at end at 6pm, when class starts.  I’m not dropping the one class I have with the friendships I’ve established because a job interferes with class.  Not to mention, not taking a class would put me behind one entire semester, something I can’t throw away.  At the rate I’m going at, I’m considering taking Open University classes at Cal State Hayward to speed things up.  I don’t have to apply to school, but I have to be aggressive if I want to get into the classes I need.  I just have to figure out how to read the class schedule so that it makes more sense to me.  I would gladly take more classes if there were more sections available, but with the budget cuts, I’ll take whatever class I can get into.  The additional class I would have taken this semester required the chemistry class I was going to take during the summer, and since I didn’t take the chemistry class, I can’t take the biology class.  The class I’m taking now (physiology) requires an earlier chemistry class and anatomy.  And the admins are actually dropping people who don’t have the prerequisites on record, which is, I think, a good idea.  I thought my microbiology class would help, but it doesn’t.  I’ve looked at the chemistry class I was supposed to take over the summer and I don’t understand any of the professor’s notes.  That tells me that I need to take it during the regular school year, and that’s what I’ll do in the spring, along with a math class.  Not knowing what to take is also going to slow me down.  I want to be done in the next 3 years, hopefully.  In the end, it’s only going to get more stressful, but it’s the only thing I can do for now until I have a job.  And job hunting isn’t easy, so I’m trying to stay on top of everything before I lose control of it.  It should be a fun class this semester, and everyone is far more friendly than the people I knew in anatomy.

Anyway, until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
