Decisions to make…

I am currently having a dilemma.  When I went up to UC Davis to move my cousin out of her dorm so she could go back home for the summer, we went to visit their entomology (the study of insects) department.  I’ve always enjoyed bugs, unlike my cousins.  And that’s the problem.  I also enjoy helping people, in the pharmacy career, which is why I’m on track in taking pre-requisites to apply to pharmacy school.  Animals were always my first love, especially insects.  When I was younger, you would find me looking in bushes, trees, flowers, just looking for bugs.  On occasion, I’d fish them out of the pool.  That’s how I got stung by a bee.  (I know, I couldn’t have made a worse decision to fish a BEE out of the pool).  But the bugs were everywhere, and I caught well, whatever I could catch.  It wasn’t easy, but it didn’t deter me from trying other methods.  And with this visit to a nationally recognized program (it was the #1 ranked entomology program in 2007) had me rethink what I wanted to do with my future.  The economy sucks, and going back to school seemed like the logical choice to wait it all out and see the economy improve enough to find a job in the pharmacy industry.  I still don’t have a job.  Being at the top of my class didn’t help either.  I have a great reference pool, but that’s about it.  The master’s program at Davis takes about 2.5 years, give or take, if I travel or not.  And I like to travel too, and that’s where I’m STUCK.  Pharmacy doesn’t travel, but I enjoy helping people.  Bugs mostly annoy people, but they can be beneficial too.  California wouldn’t have great fruits and vegetables if not for pollinators, such as honey bees and other insects.  I -could- go to pharmacy school after getting a master’s degree in entomology, but at that point, I’d be better off getting a doctorate instead.  And even though the majority of students in the graduate program are doctorate-bound, I don’t want to go into academics and teach; I would rather enjoy the bugs and be able to bring my knowledge and carefree personality towards insects to other people.  I like structure, but academia is too much structure.  So, in the end, I’m deciding between a career that could possibly bank 6 digits a year (pharmacists get paid A LOT) or following my heart and study the creepy crawlies that has bothered my friends since we were little kids.  At this point, I am leaning heavily towards a master’s program in entomology because it has always been my first love.  At the pharmacy where I volunteer, I told them it was either  “bugs or drugs.”  I know it rhymes and sounds bad at the same time, but with my medical knowledge and knowing how insects affect the medical world with the diseases they cause, I feel that my career interests could benefit each other in the long run.  I’ll take my chances and apply for the program.  However, in order to get accepted into the program, a professor has to accept me into his or her lab/research.  That’s the hard part, because I like so many things about insect society.  I’m most interested in insect evolution (WALL-E makes my point) and insect behavior, especially colony insects (not termites, though).  I also really enjoy walking sticks, especially the tropical ones. =)

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on June 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
