Almost summer..

School is done.  Finally.  It was a difficult class, and I don’t know if I could take  it again.  Some people drop early in the semester and then retake it again.  I know I could have done better, but I don’t learn well in a lab environment, where the chairs are too high and I’m taking notes where critters (or body parts) are often dissected or pinned.  It’s not my ideal learning environment.  Even though my professor took the effort to understand how each student learns, I don’t think it was enough because I can’t just sit there in a lab environment and learn lecture material.  However, I think all the classes are held in a lab environment, instead of lecture in a regular classroom and lab in the lab room.   But now it’s all over and classes for the summer start in two weeks.  I still don’t know if I’m taking this class, as I haven’t heard back from a possible job opportunity.  If I don’t hear back from them, I’m going to take the class.  If I do get the job, I’ll take the class another time.  However, the chemistry class I have planned for the summer is a recommended class before the molecular biology class I plan on taking in the fall, along with physiology.  Fall is going to be stressful, even more so with two classes.  The classes I have lined up could go either way: towards nursing or pharmacy school.  Either way, it is a difficult set of classes that will take quite a bit of time to complete.  If only DVC were a quarter system, I’d be done a lot faster.

But it’s summer – essentially.  The weather is finally warming up, although there have been some freak rainstorms.  I spent my ENTIRE tax return on Warhammer 40k, picking up Tau as the army of my choice.  I’ve avoided 40k for a long time, mostly because I didn’t like any of people  I met, especially those who were rules lawyers and all they would ever do is pick apart your game and tell you all the things you were doing wrong without trying to fix or help you learn to play the game.  And now that I understand the basic rules, it’s not that bad of a game.  It’s just the people.  And then there are people who tell you what to play in your army, but they don’t do it themselves.  What a bunch of hypocrites.  I happen to like my army list just the way it is, even it is a 5 year old codex and two editions behind in rules.  I’m adapting faster in 40k than I ever did in Warmachine, and having already understand a miniature game, learning another one isn’t that difficult, especially when every model you have shoots a gun of some sort.  I correlate stats between Warmachine and 40k, and that’s how I know what models can and cannot do.  I’m also learning strategy faster, and even though I was told I was lose all my games as a first year player, I DON’T CARE.  I’ve learned to lose with grace (unlike many gamers out there), and I expect my opponent(s) to do the same.  I’ll take constructive criticism to learn from my mistakes because it’s how I’ll learn to play better in the next game.  In the future, I hope to play in tournaments and be recognized as a worthwhile opponent, not just a chick who plays games, and just happens to play the same game as the tournament.

I know I didn’t write much in May, but school was hectic and my sister had her second baby.  It’s officially a zoo, but it’s not too bad.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on June 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
