Hello misery…

Mother Nature has not been kind to me this season.  I have non-stop allergies this year, including itchy watery eyes.  That’s never happened before, that I can remember.  And so, everywhere I go, I sneeze and tear, because I don’t know what’s in the vicinity that I’m allergic to.  Probably pine tree pollen, because that stuff is EVERYWHERE.  Pollen from weeds, grass, and everything else that’s leafy seems to be the problem.  I can’t really go anywhere without having sniffling and sneezing and being miserable.  At home, I’m fine.  Even the places I frequently go to cause me problems.  It’s not the location.  It’s me.  The pharmacy where I volunteer is especially bad.  The staff is great and volunteering there is great.  My allergies make me a lousy volunteer because I can only do so much before I sneeze again.  I’m not sick.  People who are sick do not sneeze this much.  The medication I’m taking only works part of the time.  It makes me wonder if taking it for so long (several years) makes me resistant to the ingredient that is supposed to make this drug do its job properly.  I don’t think there’s anything stronger or different.  I also don’t like nose sprays, but it seems to work for some people.  Itchy watery eyes make me tired – very tired.  I’ve never had allergies where it included my eyes, but it’s a new season, and I seem to have year-round allergies.  I know it’s not going to stop for a very long time, even though I wish it did. I wish I didn’t have allergies, but it’s part of the family gene pool.  I don’t want to pass it on to my kids (should I choose to have any), but it’s a dominant gene from my dad’s side of the family, so it looks like I don’t have much of a choice.

For those who do not have allergies, be thankful, because this is nasty season.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on May 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
