Back to the job hunt…

School is officially in full swing.  I technically don’t have homework in my anatomy class, but labs need to be done, so that is, so to speak, homework.  I do more of it in class than I do at home.  I should look at the book and my notes more often.  It’s a difficult class, anatomy, but I think I can handle it.  Some people have taken the class more than once and drop it after they find out their scores from the first exam.  I know I didn’t study for the first exam; I was in Hawaii the entire weekend before it, and there was no way I was bringing several pounds of schoolwork in carry-on luggage.  Not to mention, it also wouldn’t fit.  I wanted it to be a worry-free weekend, away from things at home.

As for work, they’ve decided to keep me on payroll.  I don’t know why.  It costs money to keep people you’re not paying on payroll.  I learned that from the game store, that every paycheck costs money, not just the amount that is being paid to the employee.  I’ve asked them why they’re keeping me on payroll, but I’m not getting a straight answer.  Even though it’s an independent pharmacy, I’m hesitant about working for them before they’re not an established company in the area.  It’s one store, in one place.  And they want to open more?  Good luck.  You’ll have to figure out what’s wrong with the first place (like hiring too many people) and what people walking in need/want.  I find it disappointing to have a “job,” but not working – at all.  Is it because I mentioned I was going on vacation when I’ve only worked for a week?  I was told it wouldn’t cause any problems, but nothing has changed.  So, as of now, I’m job hunting – again.  It’s not supposed to be this way.  I chose an evening class so I would have a more open schedule.  I don’t know what it’s going to be like the future, with so many budget cuts and not enough classes to go around.  The class I’m planning to take in the summer is only offered in the morning and runs into the early afternoon.  It’s not the ideal work schedule, but it’s better than nothing.  I’ve been told that I would be called if I was needed.  It’s’ been over a month since that time.  I’ve literally given up hope in having any hours at this job.

Back to the job hunt…until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on February 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
