Trying not to hate life…

I know I don’t write this often. I just need to get this out of my system. Like I mentioned before, I have a job, but I don’t consider it a career because I don’t have many hours and haven’t been trained on the pharmacy computer. I went to school to be a pharmacy technician, not to be a clerk in a health and beauty store. It’s a job, nonetheless, but not what I spent a year in training for. All the things I’ve learned are going down the drain because I have no way to reinforce it. I’ve had no pharmacy exposure for 6 months. School during the fall semester didn’t help with the fact that I couldn’t really have a job and even time for volunteer work was scare. With whatever dignity I might have left, I’ll spend volunteering because it’s the most I can do right now to regain the experience I’ve lost. It hurts to think that people want me to value this “job” over a trip that was planned in advance. My parents planned this trip to Hawaii before I thought I would get hired at any pharmacy. I know school limits my work availability, but staying at home doing absolutely nothing is going to get me absolutely nowhere. I’m letting the owner and front store manager know a month in ADVANCE about this trip. And since I’m barely in the schedule, it means they have the manpower to cover the time I’ll be gone. It feels like I’m just a “filler” for when they don’t have anyone else to work. Sure, in order of seniority in regards to when people were hired, I’m at the very bottom, so it’s no doubt that when hours are limited, I get the short end of the stick. If I’m seen as someone who doesn’t value the job I have now, then they are wrong. I try to enjoy this job as much as possible, but if I’m not getting hours, it’s not worth my time. Besides, it’s all trial and error – too many staff members and not enough hours. You probably don’t want to get rid of anyone yet, so they’re not really in the schedule unless they are needed. And the other pharmacy I could be working at – stopped contacting me when I called to ask them about their progress for opening a second pharmacy. I later found out through my own research that they are opened and functioning just fine. I’ll have to take a chance and call them to see if they are still hiring. Either I got left behind because I stopped contacting them, or their phone calls simply aren’t going through (AT&T sure has its share of issues). I always respond to emails, so it’s not like it’s impossible to contact me.

Maybe the only person I’m hurting is myself, but there’s not point in calling this job a career if I’m not going to get any hours.

~ by twilightmelfina on January 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
