Day 17 of the new year…

As day 17 comes to an end, I think about what has happened in the last 2 weeks of the new year. For starters, the relief effort for Haiti is well underway, with many companies donating money and people to help the local people. It is truly devastating, since the country and its people are so poor, everything collapsed, leaving people with absolutely nothing. One method to help is through texting; what happens is that $10 is charged to your phone bill and the money goes toward the relief effort. I should probably do that. Every little thing helps. The Red Cross and other professional organizations are requesting pharmacists to help with the medication and doctors to help with the injured. It is going to take many years for Haiti and its people to rebuild their island. Thankfully, many companies and countries around the world have donated money and resources to help with the relief effort.

As for my life, I have a job. It’s better than not having a job at all. I’ve been looking for so long and I get the same answer for every pharmacy I’ve been to. But here’s the problem: most of the products are imported from the Philippines, and I don’t speak a word of Tagalog. All the people who come in are Filipino, and I’m stuck talking to them in English. Even my co-workers have to stop before they talk to me because I don’t speak Tagalog. I know some words, but not enough to hold a conversation. It’s disappointing, but the pharmacy itself is not really ready (we don’t have any prescriptions yet). I know I’m smart, but I haven’t had any pharmacy exposure in 6 months. I’m rusty on drug names (both trade & generic), so I have to figure out how I can volunteer at my externship site so I can get some experience.

School starts again next week, and I have to add my class because I’m on the waiting list. Too many people were signing up, but I am fortunate to have made it onto the waiting list. I was the 9th person on the waiting list, but the last time I checked, I was the 5th person. That’s a good thing. Maybe that will give me a better chance of getting in the class. The book is so expensive, so I have to figure out how I’m going to get a used copy without breaking the bank. Education has become so expensive, and yet, there aren’t enough classes to go around.

I want things to improve this year – the stock market, education, health care, among other things. We can only hope for the best.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on January 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
