And the holidays are here…

Right after Halloween, the holidays are officially here. Thanksgiving has passed, and now people are probably lining up for Black Friday sales. Until I actually find something worth getting, I don’t plan on shopping on Black Friday. Not to mention, the stuff I look for is hardly on sale. It’s the holidays, and I want to relax. And to eat good food (that’s the next most important thing besides relaxing).

So, I decided to skip my math class at night the day before Thanksgiving. Do I feel bad? Kind of, but not really, because it’s unfair to students to have evening classes the day before Thanksgiving. It’s okay to have day classes, but after a certain time, all classes should be canceled. People do travel, and they often want to leave early. So, I rolled my fabulous Fable die (it’s a d6), and both rolls said no. So I didn’t go. No homework turned in, no new notes, no new homework. We also have a test next week, after my microbiology lab practical. I have no time to enjoy the weekend; I’m spending it studying. I don’t mind the microbiology, since I understand most of it, but the labs were far more complex, so I actually need to review everything. So, I’m missing a week’s worth of information in math and come back to a test, but I don’t really care. I understand so little of the material that I’m planning on retaking the class anyway, with a different teacher. She’s going through the information so fast that I don’t really have the time to process it because I have so many other things to think about. I don’t even read the book, but I’ve heard that it’s easier to learn the material again by reading the book. I should probably do that.

I’m still job hunting, and it’s pathetic. I’ve been to every chain pharmacy in the area – Target, CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, Costco, Safeway – my last stop is Walmart. I still have one more Target to go to, and it’s the superstore in San Ramon. I have friends who are working in pharmacies, so I’m hoping they have space left for one more person. I got some great tips from my sister, so I’m hoping the next interview I get (preferably at a pharmacy) will look better than the one I had at Target. Independent pharmacies have fallen off the face of the earth. The one I had hopes for has never gotten back to me, and when I call them, I never get the answer I want. They said they were opening a new location, but the last thing I heard was that there was still paperwork issues with the Board of Pharmacy. But at least I’m still looking. However, job hunting at a pharmacy isn’t like looking for a holiday job; it doesn’t work that way. They hire separately from the store itself, which is why I don’t have to deal with the regular employees; I can ask the pharmacist directly. I just wish a pharmacy was hiring so I could put my skills to use.

Anyway, doors open for Black Friday sales in a few hours. I should probably go to sleep if I’m going to function later in the day. Good night.

~ by twilightmelfina on November 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
