Going back to school…

School starts Monday. I spent the entire summer accomplishing absolutely nothing, except managing to hold onto a temporary job at night. The first 6 weeks of my summer were spent in a pharmacy, so I didn’t have much time to myself during the week. Now that it’s all over and I’m looking for a job (or trying to), it’s hard to believe the summer passed by so quickly. The weather was definitely NOT summer-like, with some cool temperatures and fog in the city (oh wait, that’s typical in SF).

I -kind of- look forward to going back to school; it’s better than sitting around at home and doing nothing (or playing hours of Maplestory until the game tells you how long you’ve been playing and suggests that you take a break). I’m hoping to add another class in addition to the two other classes I’ll be taking: microbiology and plane trigonometry. I’ve always enjoyed science, but it takes a certain kind of person to teach science, and it should always try to be a hands-on experience. I’ve had my share of teachers who just tell you the material but never apply it or provide any examples. I’ve done my research for my teachers; I wouldn’t take a class with a random teacher not knowing what he or she was like.

I’ve always liked school and I know I’m smart, but when the material is too easy and the information isn’t presented in a way that I’ll be able to retain to use later, I get lazy and don’t pay attention. I could have done better in high school if I applied myself, but I was far too lazy. I know that people learn in different ways, and teachers should learn to provide information in different ways. Telling how it is one way is going to lose a number of students, if not more.

Having been in student teaching in a massive school district, I’ve come to understand how much the K-12 education system SUCKS. There is no money to do anything at all, and students aren’t able to enjoy school like I did. History reenactments in 4th and 5th grade? I was lucky to have that, but I doubt schools even do that anymore. It’s all sponsored by parent volunteers. I know when I have a kid, I want the to enjoy school the way I did. It wasn’t even about the money – at all. Moraga wasn’t a yuppie town like Danville and Blackhawk.

Going back to school is probably the best thing right now, even with the tuition increase. It’s better than staying home accomplishing nothing.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
