The beginning of the end, part II

I’m supposed to be on my pharmacy technology externship right now.  But instead, I’m at home, blogging and doing laundry.  Why is it that I’m at home?  It’s because I was placed at a government facility for my externship, namely the Veteran Affairs hospital in Martinez, and they have required paperwork.  I’ve already sent everything in, so I’m supposed to start the following Monday after my original start date.  This means I’ll be ending my externship a week later than scheduled.  Some people got interviews before going to the externship site.  The two of us who were placed at the VA went to visit the facility just to see the location and to make sure we knew how to get there on Monday.  I’m nervous, but not as bad as my friend.  I look forward to working there, even if it means I don’t have a life Monday through Friday for the next 6 weeks.  I don’t even know if I’ll be able to work because I’ll be so busy.  I’ll be pulling an 18 hour day if I do the externship and work at the same time.  I would like to work, but I doubt I’ll have the energy to do so.  I don’t want to leave my job for 6 weeks, but I’ll need the sleep (I’ll be getting up at 6 in the morning).  This is a week of catching up on lost sleep – going to school, then more school, then work.  I don’t know how I got all that done and survived.

I’m glad to be done with school – no more nagging and people asking me for my notes.  I still have them posted online, but since the school was recently purchased by another company, the lecture format has changed.  I’d stop by to visit, but it would be strange because I’m supposed to be on extern.

I’m taking more classes in the fall, as I make the progression through pre-requisite classes for pharmacy school.  It’s a lot of work!  It’s going to take at least 4 years, if not more, because I’m not taking classes this summer.  I would like to, but it’d have to be at night and I would barely have time to study.  So, I’m taking classes in the fall – a math class and a microbiology class.  I did my research and looked up the professors; I’d be ignorant not to.  The schools I’m thinking about applying to have similar requirements, but the University of Hawaii, who just got their accredidation, has far more requirements, including the PCAT, which is the exam you take to apply to pharmacy school.  It’s similar to the MCAT, which is for medical school.  The schools I want to apply to don’t require the PCAT, which will save me the $150 (the price of the exam).  It’s going to be a tough road, but being a pharmacist is an in-demand job, and since I still have the time and science is my true calling (in comparison to teaching), I’ll put in the required time and effort.

As for other things, Mt. Diablo Unified School District is planning to lay off up to 400 teachers.  They are the biggest school district in Northern California (second would probably be San Ramon), and that hurts a lot of teachers, students, and families.  As big as this district is, there is simply not enough money.  The article said the lay offs were by seniority, so people like me, who just started, get laid off first.  Now I’m glad I didn’t become a teacher because if this is my job outlook, I’d rather be doing something else.  Health care keeps growing, even though there’s no money.  People require medication and care, and there are simply not enough people to do it all.  I’d tell people to go into nursing because there are not enough nurses to go around.  It’s a demanding job, but it pays well and you can get hired just about anywhere.

In the end, this economy continues to go downhill; car companies are going bankrupt, and people are still being sent overseas to solve another country’s problems.  I want the troops to be withdrawn; they deserve better and that means more money will be spent on important things, not on another country’s problems.

I hope to blog about my experiences at the VA, but due to privacy and stuff, I can’t really go into detail about it.  However, I’ll do my best to write about the experience.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on June 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
