Back from Egypt

It feels so good to be home, after being in a Muslim county for 10 days.  It is a VERY different environment, and while I would recommend going to Egypt for the history, I would NOT recommend going without a tour group.  The majority of the people speak very little English, so getting around, even in Cairo or Luxor, could be a hassle.  They enjoy the US dollar much more than the local currency, which is the Egyptian Pound.  And they expect tips on every little thing they do for you, even at the restrooms.  I am perfectly capable of carrying my own luggage, but hotel workers insist on carrying them for you so they can get tips.  The tour I went on was supposed to have all fees like that covered, but some still ask for extra money.  I don’t blame them; it’s their job and they’re trying to make money to support themselves or their family.  While being in Egypt, I learned a lot about the Muslim culture, but very little about the religion itself.  Men provide everything should they choose to marry – an apartment, furniture, etc.  However, the wife must always listen to her husband.  Since the men have to provide everything, they marry later in life.  It’s definitely different, and an eye-opener in a way because I’m not religious (I consider religion in itself to be a hassle, but I respect those that follow a particular faith).

I intend on putting in the entries that I wrote during the trip, since I did not have my laptop with me.  Even if I did have my laptop, there was little or no internet access, so nothing would have been posted until I got home.  All my photos are online, but I don’t plan on announcing the link to my photos unless requested.

All my entries will be dated the day I wrote them, but they will all come after this entry.  If I used the original date, they would be before this entry and no one would actually read this one before reading everything else.

As for the new year, I don’t have any resolutions.  I find them as ever-lasting promises that are too easily broken.  This is why I stopped making them.  In the end, I look out for the well being of myself and others.

Best wishes for the new year!

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on January 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
