Looking into the future…

There goes another job, but it’s not like I had any control over it.  It was only temporary, and with the economy practically licking the cement, there was no choice but to end my contract through the temp agency.  I don’t blame them – there’s no money to keep me there.  But there is still a chance I could go back, depending on the economic situation.  It was an office job, not too exciting, but I could go at my own pace without being told what to do or how to do it.  I was slow at first, but I figured things out quickly.  It paid well – and every week.  I had my hopes up by spending a bit, but now I know I have to save every last cent.  It’s not possible to live paycheck to paycheck, and with the trip to Egypt during the holidays, I can’t even be a holiday hire because I won’t be around during the most critical time – Christmas.  I had hoped to keep this temporary job until at least December, so that I would have at least enough money to get the photography program from Apple.  If I’m lucky, I’ll find a new job soon and I can start saving again.  As much as I don’t want to go back into the video game industry, I don’t have much of a choice.  I know too many people and my boyfriend has too many connections.  Even the office had former EB employees – 7 others, not including me.  I’ll miss the food runs and buying food for the guys, but at least I’ll have time for myself – and for pharmacy.  Without work, I’ll be able to start my prerequisite classes in the spring, but I’ll have to take them at night because of classes in the morning.

Speaking of pharmacy, my 4th term is almost over.  It seems like when the program first starts, it’s the longest time, but after awhile, you get used to it.  Scheduling has been consistent, though I feel that some people have some SERIOUS issues being the in class.  I won’t mention names, but I worry about some people going into pharmacy because they don’t understand the simplest concepts and have absolutely no science background.  My years of science exposure puts me above the majority of the class, and I will probably graduate with honors, something I’ve never had the opportunity to do.  People who skip days (especially test day, Monday) are screwing over their grades.  I’m too good to be skipping class, mainly because my parents are paying for my education.  If the government is funding your education, skipping class can screw up how much money you get.  I also pay less than most people because I already have a bachelor’s degree, and I don’t have to take general education classes (which are at the crack of dawn).

I’m sad that I no longer have a job; I didn’t think temporary would only mean a month.  It hurts, considering that when I was asked about when I could start, I had asked about when I could start.  They liked my attitude and arranged for me to start the same day I did all the paperwork.  But I don’t want to think I failed because I didn’t.  The economy sucks and with the last person coming in on a temporary contract, I had to be cut.  There was someone else who could have gotten cut, based mainly on performance.  I’ve kept my end of the bargain on performance, only having 2 bad nights – my first night and the night when the boss was out and I got lazy.  It didn’t happen again, and I made sure of that.

It’s going to be weird coming home early, or going to another job (if I get one).  The thing is, I’m in scrubs 4 days a week, and I can’t waste gas just to come home to change.  If I don’t have time to change, I’ll have to go to work in scrubs.  I should buy more colors, but for the time being, I’ll settle with what I have.

It’s finally October, fall, and the rainy season.  My parents caught me a desert tarantula (a local species) on the driveway, but I let him go after a weekend because he wasn’t eating.  He didn’t want to go, hanging onto my glove when I tried to push him off into unfamiliar grounds.  I actually had to pick him up and place him under a bush so he wouldn’t become bird food the moment I turned around.  I haven’t had a tarantula in nearly 7 years because of all the construction and the habitat destruction.  I feel bad for them, and I hope my little guy survived, even though he only had 7 legs (the front right leg was missing).

I don’t expect any miracles, but it can’t hurt to hope for something worthwhile.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
