A future in pharmacy?

The more I think about it, the more I try to better understand what it will take to get into pharmacy school.  Who knew pharmacy would be an in demand career?  Besides, by the time I apply to a pharmacy school, I will have at least 4 years of experience working in a pharmacy, whether retail or hospital.  There are two schools in the area that I am considering – UCSF and UOP.  Although UCSF is closer and tuition is cheaper, it’s more research, and well, I did enough research as an undergraduate.  UOP, on the other hand, is a private school, and has tuition fees that are well, very expensive.  Both schools have similar requirements, but UOP has less science and math requirements.  I don’t know how long it will take me to finish all my prerequisite classes, but if DVC were a quarter system school, I’d be done with classes much faster.  But it’s not, so each semester is going to be 1 or 2 classes, depending on my work schedule.  I had initially planned to start taking classes in January, but with a temporary job that pays me well, I’m willing to start in Fall 2009.  If I do everything right, I can be done with these classes and apply for the 2014 incoming class.  It’s 5 years – 4 years of classes, then waiting for the application period to open up for the fall 2014 incoming class.  It’s approximate, since I’ll be taking classes nearly year round – fall, spring, and summer.  I want to take classes during the day, but my future work schedule may force me to take classes at night, depending whether I work in a hospital or retail pharmacy.  Working in retail would actually give me a more flexible schedule, though less money.  I have to take a lot of beginner’s classes because I never took chemistry or physics in high school.  It’s setting me back, but at the same time, getting me prepared for the more difficult classes later on.

I’m not the only one in my class who as ambitions to become a pharmacist, but having to take all the prerequisite classes is going to set me behind on my future.  All these people around me are getting married and well, I’m still waiting around.  I’m in no rush to get married, but I look forward to it.  The thing I’m worried about is that I don’t have many female friends because I’m a gamer chick – I spend more time with the guys than with other girls.  It makes me different, and somehow, desirable.

As for the new term, we got 5 new people – and 2 guys!  I’m disappointed that I can’t have a more exciting topic for my oral presentation; I was told I do too many outdoorsy type diseases.  What a bunch of BS.  I know exactly what I’m doing, and next time, I’m going to ask someone else if my topic is okay.  The material this term is difficult as well, but it should get easier with future terms.  There’s no math in the microbiology term, so I have to do really well since math is what keeps my class average up.  The thing is, with more people coming in, there are fewer people leaving, which means there are less parking spaces.  That means I have to leave EARLIER just to get parking.  I didn’t think I’d ever have to fight for parking when it’s FREE, but we have to share with all the business in the complex, not to mention the stupid gardeners who take school spots for their work.  HELLO!!!  Take someone else’s parking spot, not the school parking spots.  I’m surprised I haven’t run someone over yet because of my road rage.  And, after this term, we don’t have people leaving for at least THREE terms, which means there are more bodies joining the program and less bodies leaving.  There won’t even be enough space for new students at this point.  *sigh*

Anyway, I know it’s been a very long time since I last wrote – I work until midnight, so I don’t have time to update on a consistent basis.  Maybe I’ll try to do it over the weekends or something like that, when I have more time.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on September 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
