So much going on…

There has been a lot going on – the Olympics, the presidential campaigning, kids going back to school, among other things.  It’s been really hard for me to watch the Olympics, mainly because I can get all the scores online.  I saw the opening ceremony (I even have it taped) because being Chinese makes me proud that the host country was able to pull off such a spectacular show.  I doubt any other host country will be able to do an opening ceremony that even compares because they don’t have 1.3 billion people to use at their disposal.  I believe the IOC (International Olympic Committee) is still debating on the host city for the 2016 Olympics.  I still can’t believe San Francisco lost to New York for the 2012 Olympics, considering that we are the City by the Bay, and we have a beautiful skyline.  Except that there’s no space in the city to build any Olympic venues, but it’s not like New York has any space either.  I’m still wondering how London is going to do it.  The remaining 4 choices for 2016 are Chicago, Tokyo, Rio de Janeiro, and Madrid.  As for other Olympic news, several athletes have already been kicked out for testing positive for drugs, the most familiar ones to me are propranolol, a beta blocker, and furosemide, a diuretic.  I’m not familiar with any steroids just yet.  Athletes should be glad that they made it to the Olympics; they should haven’t to depend on drugs to make their performance better.  That’s why it’s called training.  But, the Olympics are just about over; the closing ceremony will be Sunday night.

As the kids go back to school, there seem to be more cars on the road than ever.  I have to leave earlier and earlier for school, just to find parking.  It’s pathetic.  With all the local businesses also sharing the same parking lot, I’m not surprised I haven’t run over someone or hit another car.  But it’s unfair that other businesses complain that we park in their spots when they barely have any visitors.  They don’t know what it’s like to fight over parking – at all.  For the first time in 2.5 months, I actually had to park on the street.  Usually I manage to find a spot, but with new students constantly enrolling, and most of them have to take the general education classes, they take up the majority of the spots in the morning.  I’m lucky if I even get a spot by the library.  As for the K-12 generation, I just found out that an old high school english teacher is now teaching AP English.  I regret not taking AP classes, but I blame myself for not paying more attention to the opportunities I could have had.  I heard juniors complain about AP US History, but I don’t think US history is that hard, considering that Chinese history has multiple dynasties and so much more.  My US history consists of the 13 colonies, the Revolutionary War, the Civi War, WWI, the Depression, WWII, the Civil Rights Movement, and current history.  If there is something I missed, please tell me.

I’ve decided that I’m going to apply to pharmacy school.  It’s going to take several years before I even turn in my application because I still have to take all the prerequisite classes, which may take up to 3 years.  But in the end, being a pharmacist is a very successful career, nearly making a 6 digit salary, provided that I work in the right place.  But I think a lot of kids get scared from taking hardcore science and math classes because they don’t focus on those subjects in school.  NCLB (No Child Left Behind) focuses so much on math and reading that all other subjects are severely neglected.  There’s no time in school day to even touch upon them, much less to crack open a book.  I could teach music or science, but they all want people to have credentials.  With my knowledge, I don’t need a credential because I have a strong enough background.  I grew up with science, so the liberal arts stuff is really not my thing.  Given the proper materials, and knowing the grade requirements, I could teach science – without a credential.  It’s depressing to know that California is ranked No. 48 in education, yet we have award winning schools and great 4-year schools and graduate programs.  Somehow, the K-12 generation just isn’t making the state’s education better.  Of course, if we had more money, we wouldn’t have so many problems.  I could work for school board, but I’m too out of the ordinary and too liberal to be working with a conservative school board.  Besides, all those kids who are diagnosed with ADHD and drugged – someone’s got to deal with all the medication. =)

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
