Time flies…

Usually I try to write more often, but I haven’t had to the motivation to do so.  Talk about being lazy.  So many things are going on, from close to home to statewide/nationwide.  Among them are: my sister having her baby; the maid of honor from her wedding is getting married, the Olympics in China, the number of autistic kids in school, among other things.

It’s hard to believe that my second term of pharmacy school is coming to an end.  It wen by faster than my first term.  More people are starting to ask for my notes because I’m able to get everyting, since I type faster than I write.  I’ve deicded to post my lecture notes on my MobileMe server provided by Apple’s new service.  However, I am debating whether to password protect this information because I don’t want people from outside class to have access to the shite.  But for the time being, I’ll leave it as it to avoid any problems.

There are a lot of things to learn in pharmacy, but lately, I’ve encountered classmates who are having trouble in math.  For the first two terms, the math is relatively easy because it’s all high school math.  At my high school, algebra II is required to graduate, but I’d have to check with California standards.  For the first term, the math consists of decimals and fractions, concepts that we learned in elementary and junior high school.  Nothing difficult, but often requires several steps to solve.  The adding, subtracting, multiplying, and dividing of decimals and fractions are often a hassle in younger students because they are just learning the concepts, but for older students, these concepts should not be difficult.  The book gives plenty of examples, but some people still don’t get it.  Not remembering the basic conepts is not a good enough excuse for not understanding the material!

The second term consists of basic conversions – volume, weight, and length.  Knowing these conversions is based on memorization – consistent memorization.  It can be difficult at first, but it gets easier over time,  I think the reason why people don’t understand the basic conversions is because we don’t normally use the metric system, unlike the rest of the world.  During the first term, students have the luxury of using a blue packet that has all the medical abbreviations, conversions, and other important stuff.  I did my best not to rely on it, knowing that in the second term, you weren’t able to use it at all during the math exams.  And before every math exam, I do a crash course on the medical abbreviations, which has helped a lot of other students besides myself.  It’s a flash card program I found for my Mac, but I doubt something like this is available for PCs.  So, with the final coming up (it’s tomorrow), there will be a lot of people testing their abbreviations.

I’d write about everything else, but I’m tired of typing, not to mention I still have to study.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on July 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
