ID4 weekend…

And the long weekend begins…

And I’m at home, unable to go to Anime Expo in Southern California.  The majority of the fires have cleared up, so the sky is blue again, and the air is much cleaner.  But it’s SO HOT OUTSIDE.  I don’t want to do ANYTHING outside.  I don’t know what I’m doing for the weekend yet, probably going to see a movie and paint my severely neglected models.  Usually I have no motivation to paint my models, but with such a consistent schedule for school, it feels as though I have more time – somehow.  

My birthday is also coming up really fast, but I decided in the past that if anyone wanted to get me anything, it would be their choice.  I don’t really care about the gifts anymore; I just want people to care that it is my birthday.  There are things I would like to have, but it’s not the end of the world if I don’t have it.  I’m doing my best to be less materialistic and to take better care of myself.  

School is going well; it’s the same format every week.  And sometimes, that format can be REALLY BORING.  I stopped by the local drug store to find a new nail clipper (I lost my previous one), and the pharmacy was REALLY BUSY.  But then it is a long weekend, so people are refilling their medications before they go out of town.  I was hoping to talk to their pharmacist about possibly doing some part-time work there, but I’ll have to go another day when they’re not so busy.

Out of all the new students, I think I have the strongest grasp of these concepts because of my medical background.  Science runs the strongest in me, next to music.  However, to be a single-subject teacher takes time, and I simply do not have the patience to go through a year program teaching science when students barely get it at the K-5 level.  California’s education has hit rock bottom (we’re ranked 48 out of 50), so this is why you don’t see many kids becoming science majors – not enough exposure or they’ve been scared off.  

I would have LOVED to be a science major, but chemistry and physics scared me off.  But all those years in science museums really brought out what I enjoy – science in all forms.  I faced my fear of chemistry in pharmacy class, but it’s still not enough.  That was just the basics.  But in the end, I won’t know what I can do in regards to science until I try it for real.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on July 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
