Things that suck in society…

This is going to be a long rant because there are a lot of things in society that suck right now. For starters. education and the economy. I don’t like politics, but Clinton won in Pennsylvania, so I’m happy for her. There is currently a rice shortage, the first time I’ve ever heard of one, and being someone who depends on rice, this could be a serious problem. And California is having a drought, which means water usage will be limited though the summer. The war in Iraq, of course, always sucks. I think I’ve covered everything, but more stuff may come up.

The economy BLOWS. Gas prices change everyday (well, I don’t know for sure, but it could be true). And I start school again in May. I’m going to be driving around a lot. At this point, I wish I had a hybrid. Also, I haven’t been able to find a job. I have all this free time and I spend most of it sleeping. It’s pathetic. No one is hiring because there’s no money and no time. I’m surprised there aren’t any companies doing massive layoffs.  The value of the dollar is dropping, so economies around the world are being affected as well. And having the presidential election isn’t helping either. *sigh* It’s going to be a long year.

The next major problem is education. There is no money to fund ANYTHING. Tuition is going up for the UCs and the CSUs, and many people won’t be able to to afford to go to school. It’s not any better at the K-12 level because teachers are being laid off without any reasons why. Programs like music and art get cut. Schools lose critical staff (no money to pay them) or are forced to share resources, like school nurses. It’s been said that teaching is rewarding job, but in the state of California, it is not a stable one (well, not right now). Because of the budget cuts, schools are forced to have more students in each classroom, something I consider a fire hazard. With no money, schools cannot achieve standards, and with low test scores, schools will get even less money, if any at all. Even though I like kids and wanted to be a teacher, being in the education industry is not in my best interests. Hopefully, by the time my friends graduate, the economy will be alright. In the end, when it comes to education, everyone suffers.

I rarely talk about the war because it’s the reason why the country has no money – we spend it sending soldiers to get shot at. The fact that people don’t get along in the Middle East is their own problem. They are welcome to kill each other over whatever it might be, property, religion, among other things. Yet, the US always insists on being involved, but never solves the problem. The US displays her power by being involved in everything, but never manages to solve anything. If the people in a certain area don’t get along, well, it’s not a problem for the US (unless the problem is in the US). The US sacrifices soldiers everyday, but at what cost? The last time I heard, there were 4,000 dead and over 96,000 injured. And we keep sending them over there. Besides, it’s not even a war – it’s a conflict. Clinton wants to bring the troops home, which would be the best thing because then the locals in the Middle East can solve their own problems.

That felt good to get all that out, considering that I usually don’t write things like this.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on April 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
