Lapse in judgement…

I think I may have been wrong – again. I really thought going into vet tech was because I like the animals so much, but is it going to be a career that I can truly rely on? Like I said before, I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking, and now it’s even harder than ever to make that final crucial decision. My paperwork at the school has probably already gone through, and I could be stuck as a vet tech. Even though I said that going into pharmacy tech would be “convenient” (because of my parents’ background), being “convenient” means the decision is much easier to make. I know there’s going to be a lot of studying and memorizing in either program, but then I thought, “Are there more people taking medication or are there more people buying pets?” The answer is extremely obvious – more people are taking medication. So, I’m hoping the school can reverse my decision, as I already let me admissions representative know in both an email and a phone call. I’m hoping she’ll get back to me ASAP, as she was sick when I made my decision with another admissions representative who was not familiar with me. Not to mention, the pharmacy tech program costs less, and with a bachelor’s degree somewhere in the mail, I save money because I won’t have to take the general education classes. However, I have thought about being a tutor for the general education classes, since I have the knowledge and the background. The Physicians’ Desk Reference (PDR) is intimidating, but if I keep being scared of the things that I’m not good at (like chemistry), I’m never going to make it anywhere.  I originally told my admissions representative that I was going into pharmacy tech. Then, when she called me because she had an open appointment before the one I had scheduled, I told her I was going into vet tech. That was a huge mistake because I didn’t even think twice about what I said, and now I regret it. All my paperwork said vet tech, and well, considering the job outlook, I’m more likely to find a job as a pharmacy tech than a vet tech. Besides, I have my share of connections in medicine; I have NOTHING like that if I go into vet tech. I really hope she gets back to me soon so we can fix all of this, as I have been very restless about the decision I made on a whim.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on April 17, 2008.

Leave a comment