Going back to school…

I mentioned last week that I was no longer in the credential program at Cal State Hayward. Well, I’m going back to school to become a pharmacy technician at a local technical school – Western Career College. I know they have lame advertising and commercials, but it’s a decent school with a high success rate. I took the time and energy to make sure the program was accredited (it took me forever to find it), and I found that there are not many schools that have a pharmacy technician program.  The closest public school that offers the program is in the South Bay, and I don’t have the time or energy to drive over an hour for class.  Not to mention I don’t know the area very well, so I would probably get lost.   I had also thought about veterinary tech since I like animals so much, but it’s the vet techs that have to euthanize animals to end their suffering.  I’m not the kind of person who could do that, even if it meant the animal being in a better place.  There is a lot of memorization involved in pharmacy, but my memory has always been good (especially with constant repetition).  I’ll be using a lot of flash cards, and I even found a program for my Mac that has digital flash cards – save the environment.  But I took the school assessment test and went above the minimum score for the majority of the programs, so technically, I could do whatever I wanted.  However, my problem is that I never apply myself, which means my knowledge means nothing if I can’t apply it to something.   I know I’m smart and I know the material, but if I don’t apply myself, I don’t learn anything.

As for school, I don’t miss the student teaching at all.  It was great being around the kids, but there were too many and I felt more like an unpaid baby-sitter with a lot of emotional baggage.  I spent 3 months in the credential program and I learned a lot, and I hope to apply what I’ve learned in those 3 months to something else.  As for everyone else in the program, there is still a lot of work involved.  I don’t think anyone misses me in the program, but I still have to sell my books (I’ve been putting it off).

Anyway, I go back next Friday (the 18th) for financial aid (even though I don’t need it).  Classes start in May, and since I already have a degree, I’ll be saving money because I won’t have to take the general education classes.  Woohoo!  Now I just have to wait for my degree in the mail…whenever that might be…

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on April 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
