The beginning of the end…

It’s the day before my Spring Break officially starts.  I’ll finally be able to catch up on lost sleep.  I don’t remember my elementary school starting this early in the morning, but there’s nothing I can do about it.

It’s also the end of the quarter, so I’ll be starting new classes after Spring Break.  We’ll be doing science, so I look forward to that.  I was always good in science, so it shouldn’t be hard to make a lesson.  There’s also a class about English Language Learners/Development, so I’ll be able to work with the one Spanish-speaking student in my class.  Everything else is the same.

As for education as a whole, there’s no money in the Mt. Diablo Unified School District.  Because of the budget cuts, people are losing their jobs and newly credentialed teachers can’t find any jobs.  It makes me wonder if this was a good time to become a teacher because of the budget crisis.  And then they want to put 32 kids in each kindergarten class.  That should be a fire hazard.  My class already has 32 kids and for 2.5 hours, all hell breaks loose.  I love my kids, but they are definitely a handful.  Spring break will be a time to get away from them, but it will be back to normal afterwards.

When I receive education-related information from an unverified source, I hesitate about it because I haven’t read anything about it.  And everyone in education knows that you can’t accomplish a lot unless there’s money involved.  You can’t expect students to achieve higher standards where there is no money to supply the materials required to learn those things.  Parent volunteers are hard to come by, depending on the school.  Some parents work multiple jobs just to keep food on the table, so volunteering in their child’s classroom is the least of their problems.  In this generation, these students deserve everything.  But the government expects so much out of them (blame Bush for NCLB), and there’s no money to achieve those goals.  I will honestly say that money is directly related to how students achieve state standards.  If there’s no money, very little or nothing will happen.  We all want these kids to be successful, but if there is no money available, expect very little to be accomplished.

Anyway, that was another rant, and right before Spring Break too.  I had to get it out of my system though.  *sigh*  Everyone wants to come to California for college, but we can’t even figure out our K-12 public school system.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on March 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
