Springing forward…

I don’t like Daylight Savings Time because I lose an hour of sleep.  And it’s bad enough that I don’t get enough sleep because I’m up late doing homework and getting up early for student teaching.  There is just so much work and not enough time to get anything done, and it’s probably the main reason why I can’t get over whatever I have.  Basically, I was sick for the entire month of February and haven’t felt better until now.  I don’t know even know what I had, but I didn’t get a flu shot.  I started out with a sore throat, then it became laryngitis over the weekend.  I didn’t have a voice for almost 2 weeks, so I was miserable.  And I broke all the rules of having a lost voice – I kept going like nothing was wrong with me.  Then I think I got bronchitis because I kept coughing and it wouldn’t go away.  It started going away once I took prescription-strength cough medication, conveniently with codeine.   Yay for drugs. =)

As for school, it is nearly the end of the quarter, which means Spring Break is very close.  I can’t wait because my parents will be gone and it will finally be quiet – that is, until they come back.  Student teaching isn’t stressful (I have a special situation), but having school start so early (they start at 7:45am) puts me in an uncomfortable position because I have to drive so much and the traffic is sometimes bad.  It doesn’t help that I can’t have a job because of my schedule, but I can always aim for an internship next spring or something like that.  It also doesn’t help that the Mt. Diablo School District is cutting $14 million from the 2008-2009 budget.  I can’t really work for a district that doesn’t have money, but I’ll be lucky if a job offer appears during this critical period.  With the budget cut, schools will lose support staff as well as possibly music and art.

I was fortunate to be able to start music lessons at a young age.  No matter what grade I end up teaching, I will have a high quality keyboard that will be accessible to my students and possibly the rest of the school.  This means I’ll have to work on my technique, but I’ll be able to share my expertise with students who may never the opportunity to learn music.

School is supposed to a fun place to learn, but with “No Child Left Behind” (NCLB), teachers are worked to the bone with standardized testing and getting students to learn certain things before moving to the next grade.  And there are always students who don’t meet state standards, so they are retained for another year.  There is so much retention, and it’s scary because there was nothing like that when I was a kid.  There were no such thing as state standards.  California is ranked 43rd in the nation in education – that’s no surprise.

Well, I thought I had more to write, but I’m too tired (and probably still sick) to write.  Maybe I’ll have more next time and this stupid time change won’t screw up all my stuff.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on March 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
