Clinton vs. Obama…

Elections have come and gone, and the polls close soon.  I did a half day of student teaching (it was more like telling the students to focus on their work), spent time with my boyfriend, and got home in time to vote.  California is one of those places that presidential candidates all want a piece of, because of the number of delegates.  I’m not a big fan of politics, and I’m pathetic to think that I didn’t vote in the last presidential election.  I was more worried about school than about the next guy to become president (it was the same guy, anyway).  I haven’t been called back to jury duty in years, which they probably tie in with who has voted and who has not.  Since I didn’t vote in the last major election (back in 2004), I wasn’t in the system as a potential juror.  Hopefully, they won’t pull me again, as the last time I went to jury duty, they barely paid me enough for a tank of gas.  So, I’m not a big fan of the government either.

Anyway, I would like Clinton to win, not because of all the things she may or may not support, but I believe that the US is ready for a woman to run the country, as it has been proven by female leaders in other countries around the world (like the Philippines).  The most powerful women in the US at this point are Rice and the two Supreme Court judges.  I don’t look at the House of Representatives or the Senate.  But is that how far women will ever get in this kind of male-dominated government?  It’s been over 200 years since we declared our independence from England, but the country has always been run by a man.  What research proves that a woman is not as capable as a man to run a country?  NOTHING.  The world is just sexist, that’s all.  But women are constantly at fault, as seen in the Garden of Eden.  Whose fault is it that Adam and Eve got kicked out?  It was Eve, but from my point of view, I blame the snake because it seduced Eve into taking the apple from the forbidden tree.  I avoid devoting myself to religion as a way to escape the constant debates of religion this, religion that.

As much as Obama is probably a great guy, I’m not going to keep supporting a testosterone-run government.  This is why Roe vs. Wade remains extremely controversial because men don’t understand that women deserve the right to choose what they want to do their bodies.  I don’t believe in abortion, but it is a difficult decision to make, and it is a choice that a woman can make, provided that she has the knowledge of what might and will happen based on the consequences of the procedure.

As for school, today was my first official day of being a student teacher.  There are 20 students in the class, but the classroom is so small.  I don’t ever remember my elementary school classrooms being so small, but maybe that’s just me.  I don’t know how many of the students actually know my name, but I’m sure they’ll figure it out soon enough (I’ll be there 5 days a week).  I didn’t actually do any teaching, but rather helping the students stay on task (some of them have a hard time doing that).  There are no real lesson plans, as everything is done by the book.  It looks easy, but it will get more difficult as the school year comes to a close.  I’ll probably spend some time looking through the teacher editions of the books, as to get a better understanding of what they’re currently learning and what I can teach them in the future.  At the end of the week, the student teachers are required to write a weekly reflection, so that should be fun.  Since I have to be at the school so early, I won’t be able to sleep in anymore except on the weekends.  I don’t remember elementary school starting at 7:45am, but I heard the early time was due to the bus routes.  Well, whatever the reason, if I can get to my Starbucks, I think I’ll be okay.

I’ll probably have more classroom updates in the future.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on February 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
