Looking back…

It’s only a few more hours until the new year, but I’m at home, waiting for my boyfriend to be done at work. Why anyone would be working this late, I don’t know why, but he’s getting paid for it, so I can’t really complain. However, I’m probably the only person not going out tonight because I have no one to spend it with. It’s just going to be me and my computer and the TV. It’s pathetic.

Anyway, since I have the time, I wanted to recap a lot of the things that have occurred over the past year. It was a difficult year, mainly because I struggled to get out of school, only to find out that I still had another class to take. I lost a great job, due to my inability to follow directions, but I cannot keep harboring bad memories of something I could have fixed. I regret not trying to do better in school, when it has always been my goal to do well in school. I don’t know what happened between the discovery of procrastination and now. I’ve moved on from the bad memories, but they will always remind me.

In other news, a lot of great people died in 2007. I found a list online, and will list the people that I was familiar with (and have something to say about them):

  • Kurt Vonnegut, 84. Novelist who captured the absurdity of the world in darkly humorous works such as “Slaughterhouse-Five.” April 11. [I never read his books, but then I was never in any literature classes because I’m not a big fan of reading. However, his books are constantly banned due to controversial content.]
  • Liz Claiborne, 78. Her fashion designs became a cornerstone of career women’s wardrobes. June 26. [I’ve always liked her designs, even though I didn’t own much of it.]
  • Bill Walsh, 75. San Francisco 49ers coach; won three Super Bowls. July 30. [This hit me especially hard because a) I’ve always been a fan of the 49ers and b) he went to San Jose State and helped find the new football coach. This is when the 49ers used to win and when they actually had good players. Who ever had the idea to trade Joe Montana to the Kansas City Chiefs was RETARDED. And we got NOTHING good out of that trade.]
  • Luciano Pavarotti, 71. Opera superstar hailed as “king of the high C’s.” Sept. 6. [My mom listens to opera all the time. I grew up to his voice, and have seen many of his performances with the 3 Tenors in Concert. I even know the title of his signature piece, “Nessun Dorma” from Turandot.]
  • Madeleine L’Engle, 88. Author who captivated children with “A Wrinkle in Time.” Sept. 6. [Even as a kid I didn’t read much, except as necessary. However, I keep being told that this is a fabulous book for kids. I think it is also on the banned book list, for what reason, I’m not so sure.]

So, those are the people I could actually say something about, although I heard about the majority of the people on the list from the news. There are other people that I know who they are, but it doesn’t mean anything if I can’t say anything about them that actually affected me in some way. Here’s the link if anyone wants to see all the people who died in 2007: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071228/ap_on_re_us/ye_deaths_1

I recently got an update that my boyfriend will be working late – on New Year’s Eve. It hurts me as much as it hurts him because I was hoping to celebrate the coming of the new year with him. It’s not his fault that we’re not able to spend this time together; his job needs him and more paperwork came into the office for the staff to process it.

For all the people who have no one to spend the new year with, I now know how it feels. It hurts – a lot.

EDIT: I was actually able to spend the new year with my boyfriend. We played a few rounds of Mario Party 8 (where I’m beating him) before going to watch some TV.

Anyway, I hope everyone who reads this had a decent new year celebration. Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on December 31, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
