Still thinking… (part deux)

Sure, I would like to switch to a Mac, but then I thought about program compatibility.  Some of the best programs don’t have a Mac version (like the DVD burning software I’m currently using).  I know I saw one that is Mac compatible, but I could be seeing things as well.  This is why I’m so hesitant – software compatibility.  I know that Macs can run Windows, but that just takes extra effort.  While I still could get a Mac, I will have to setup my desktop (which has a faster processor, anyway) to use all the programs I normally want to use (like BT and play MapleStory).  Thankfully I have the portable HD from Seagate, so moving my music from one computer to another won’t take a million discs and an entire day.  And, if I need anything, I can always use the desktop.  Plus, I can finally setup the printer that has been in its box since I moved home from school – last December.  It’s a good printer, and it hasn’t really failed on me.  It’s a slow printer, but it does its job.

For the desktop, I’ll have to install and upgrade software, but it shouldn’t be too much of a hassle.  I’m thinking about adding another stick of RAM so I can do more things on it (like play PC games).  I’m not much of a PC gamer, but it will give me more variety in what I can do.  The MacBook will be my main system for school and what not, but I’ll have to see if the router has another slot for another CAT5 ethernet cable.  I have a 25ft blue one, but I know that’s not going to be long enough to go from the router to my computer.  I’m looking online to see how much these additional supplies will cost.

In the meantime, I’m going to continue thinking about the advantages and disadvantages of switching operating systems…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 20, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
