Still thinking…

About going back to a Mac.  I’ve been on a Windows machine for as long as I can remember.  I learned to put a computer together – Windows machine, that is.  Yet, I feel, as the career I have selected (a teacher) requires creativity (I refuse to be a boring teacher), I know I cannot be creative on a Windows machine.  My PowerPoint presentations are boring with just text and maybe some clip art.  I want to do more than that.  At Cal State Hayward, one of the requirements of the credential program is to create a portfolio (also required by California, the picky bastards), and I know that with a Mac, I can make everything I do look absolutely fabulous.  On a Windows machine, I would bore my students because no one of my lessons would be exciting, nor would they look nice.  And if I get this new machine before my next presentation (which will undoubtedly be on PowerPoint or [Mac equivalent program].  I look forward to a chance to be creative, something I haven’t had a chance to do.  It will be strange that I won’t be able to do certain things since there isn’t a Mac equivalent yet, but at least the most important things already have Mac versions (like Microsoft Office).  I’m not going to install Windows on my new Mac, but it has been a tempting idea once I figure it all out and understand it better.  I do have an XP install CD somewhere in my room…

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
