Surviving corporate work…

Well, I survived my first day – with a sore bum.  It was all setup work, but nothing difficult.  Technically, I haven’t even been trained on anything, and I still have so much to learn.  I did an entire gondola of games myself, and broke two nails in the process.  Peeling off old labels was not fun, but it was work, and we were allowed to listen to mp3 players and munch on leftover candy and sodas.  Lunch was paid for – at Quiznos (it was also the only decent place to eat).  For some reason, it felt like I had always been at the company because I spent so much time with my boyfriend at his store(s) (whichever one he was at).  There was nothing difficult to do, so I didn’t need to ask for instructions.  Getting there – I gunned it 65mph on Ygnacio Valley Road when the speed limit is 55mph.  I thought I was going to be late because there was so much traffic and too many damn stoplights.  Now I know I definitely have to leave earlier to beat out all the slow cars (and commuters).  I have a short day tomorrow, but there’s a chance the store might open today, provided that the people there get everything done.

The rainy season has arrived, and I love the smell of rain.  I don’t know the entire forecast, but it’s probably going to rain the rest of the week.  Now I have to find all my winter clothes as well as buy more pants for work.  I swear, guys have it so much easier when it comes to work pants.  I *could* wear the black pants I have, but I still need to get a belt.  I wonder if they still sell those double-sided belts (black on one side, brown on the other).  That would be the best one because then I wouldn’t have to buy two belts and it would go with any of my work pants.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
