Changing times…

Is it just me or are things getting more hardcore?  I just read over the requirements of this semester’s new member class and I am shocked by the number of requirements that have been added on over the years.  $75 for fundraising?  I think my class only had to do $60.  Typed interview questions?  I wrote all of mine.  The number of interviews required is far more than what I had to do.  But we also had to know the family trees, which is nearly impossible now.  The terminology of “pledge” is so outdated; “new member” is what other groups are using now.  In the end, I’m glad I left.  There is far too much pressure on the new member class (and probably on the majority of the previous ones as well) for me to be involved anymore.  It was a fun experience while it lasted, but I don’t expect to use any of the connections because everyone was out for themselves anyway.

So, I don’t really approve of how this organization has move forward since I’ve left.  We don’t host events where other groups are invited.  That’s probably why we don’t get invited to anything.  We allow anyone to join, but everything else we do is incredibly exclusive for members and new members only.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 30, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
