My new pet!

After all these years, I finally have my own pet – a baby leopard gecko named Chuckie.  He’s staying downstairs by the dinner table so I can feed him when everyone else is eating.  He’s not big on being held, but he’s only a baby.  Hopefully he’ll be more tame and less active when he’s older.  At this point, I don’t care if the lizard is a boy or a girl because all my lizards have been named Chuckie.  I’m excited because I can finally do something besides watch TV and surf the internet.

Since leopard geckos are nocturnal, he’s only awake at night, and does nothing during the day.  He reminds me of myself.  I’m hoping he’ll grow up to be a beautiful lizard.

I plan on taking pictures in the near future and posting them where my friends can see them.  However, I have to take him out of the cage to get the best pictures possible.

The only thing I’m scared of is when other people are going to take care of him.  Traveling shouldn’t be an issue, but feeding has always been because no one is going to pick up the bugs.  Thankfully, I found these tongs that will allow other people to pick up bugs (crickets or mealworms) in order to feed him.

In the end, I have a new friend, one that will stay with me for 20 years with good care.  I still have to find a lid for his cage (the one I have now is too small), and for future care, an actual bowl for his food (and maybe water) and probably other miscellaneous supplies.

In the meantime, I’m going to do more research on leopard geckos…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
