It’s summer now…

Well, the kids are out and summer vacation has officially started.  That means more obnoxious gremlins and whatnot showing up at my work.  It also means more hours and more money. =)

It is going to be very hot this summer because the winter was mild and that was very little rain in the spring.  Global warming is already messing up the seasons and we haven’t even selected a new president yet.  Who knows what the weather will be like when the elections come around.  That reminds me, I have to vote in the next elections; I’ve avoided politics so much that the county office sent me a card wondering if I was still doing stuff.  If not, I would have to re-register to vote.  That would not be a good thing.

In the meantime, what I want to write about is people’s arrogance in tabletop gaming.  As much as I would to point out their names, it wouldn’t do me any good to have all this stuff come back to me because I used real names.  So, I’m going to refer to them as Person A and Person B, etc.

The “evil company” has reigned the miniatures industry for many years.  The game and its components, though expensive, continue to attract many new players every year.  The overpriced plastic (and sometimes metal) models speak for themselves.  Even though many of my players have switched from the “evil company” to another game that has a far superior combat system and army creation possibilities, people from the “evil company have claimed to be able to perform 2-turn wins.  I don’t think it is impossible, but it is highly unlikely.  Person A made this statement, and was thus challenged, only to LOSE.  Person B sold his army because it wasn’t working him the way he wanted it to be.  In this particular industry, regardless of whether they are plastic or metal models, it is NEVER about the models; it is ALWAYS about the player.  Games are won based on a player’s ability to [be] strategic, think ahead, manipulate his or her opponent(s), and many other qualities.  Too many people, like Person A and Person B, believe that their models win the games for them.  That is the most pathetic way of thinking.  Their arrogance clouds their judgment of the kind of player they are, hiding behind their models.

I view my models as an extension of myself.  I treat them well, even if they are unpainted.  I use the same lead character over and over again, but learn new strategies every time.  I do not believe in using models that are not only expensive in point value, but do not serve a purpose except with a particular lead character.  I many not win my games, but I play to learn and to gain experience, instead of trying to find my opponent’s weak spot and expose it.  I believe in fair play more than anything else.

In the end, I can only watch as arrogant people come and go, and attempt to gain the bonds we have developed by playing fair and with our hearts.

~ by twilightmelfina on June 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
