I’m done!

It’s hard to believe that I’m FINALLY done with college. It took me 6 years – longer than anyone else I went to high school with. I’ve always known that I would fall behind because I could never stay on top of the work, but I still managed to get everything done – somehow. Sure, I’m 2 years behind everyone else I know, but I took those 2 years and did my best to figure out what I wanted to do with my life. 4 years later, I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. I don’t even know if teaching is what I really want to do. I’m not going to graduate school yet, I know that much, but after graduation, I’m going to feel somewhat empty because I won’t have competing with other students for classes anymore nor stepping foot onto the San Jose State campus. It was my home for 5.5 years when I lived on campus; however, I had trouble making new friends because I was so different from everyone else. I never had a decent roommate, and when I did, the friendship lasted only as long as we lived together. I’m not going to miss much of San Jose or its people.

It’s going to be weird not heading back into a classroom in the fall, but it will be nice to get away from everything that’s school related.  Hopefully I’ll have everything figured out for graduate school so I can do something besides be a bum all day.

But what’s been bothering me is not school, but how the organization I used to be in is currently functioning.  They are making so many rulings regarding new members that they’re so blind to how other Greek organizations fulfill their membership requirements.  Do this, dress like this – I think we have it harder than the sororities.  Dressing alike does not promote unity – it makes you look stupid to think that they would make new members try to look all the same.  We still call new members “pledges,” which makes everything sound so old-fashioned.  “New member” sounds much more professional.  Many of the “pledges” don’t make it because there are far too many requirements.  I think that if I had joined a sorority my freshman year and then joined this one, I’d make so many changes that everything would work better overall.  It’s like the members think they can do everything on their own, but don’t bother to ask other Greek organizations how they do their new member recruitment.  I’m so frustrated by the fact that they make everything SO DIFFICULT.  Sororities run their organization like a business, so why can’t we?  We try to support everything, which is impossible, so we should have a philanthropy just like other Greek organizations.  This way, the main fundraising money can go towards the philanthropy, while other fundraising money can go toward organization finances and other events.  I don’t care if anyone from my organization reads this because I’ve realized how much of a mess it has become.  They keep adding requirements without thinking about how other people do the same thing.  The advisory team has experience in chapter affairs, but not in anything else.  Every time they change something, it progessively becomes worse.

WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!

Go to a Greek organization meeting or something.  Stop being so damn close-minded and see how other people do things.  Just because we’re everywhere and we have a great reputation doesn’t mean we know how to do everything.  Look at things from outside the box, not just from the inside.

OH, AND FOR THE BONEHEADS WHO NEVER CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE GRADUATION STOLE I RIGHTFULLY DESERVE, YOU’RE A BUNCH OF RETARDS WHO CAN’T GET THEIR PRIORITIES STRAIGHT.

~ by twilightmelfina on May 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
