My life’s goals?

With graduation so close (it’s next week), I think about my future.  I spent 6 years in college, more than anyone that I went to high school with.  Where did I go wrong?  I spent 2 years blowing my parents’ money only to find that I still don’t know what to do with my life.   Some people knew what they wanted to do when they went to college; I spent 2 years of my life figuring it all out.  And I still wonder if I’ve made the right choice.  Sure, I want to be a teacher, but even though I like kids, is this something I really want to do?  Teachers are never paid enough, nor do they ever get enough recognition.  But, it’s a profession that gives you a winter and summer holiday; most jobs don’t even do that.  But with today’s standards, it’s harder to become a teacher, and with the common knowledge that teachers don’t make that much, there are fewer people going into the profession.

California has the highest standards anywhere in the US.  It has been said that if you get a teaching credential in California, you can teach anywhere in the US.  It’s not the same if you get your credential from out of state.  There are so many standards for California that it makes me wonder if I’m suited for a job in education.  With the “No Child Left Behind” law and high school exit exams, there are so many more expectations of teachers than there was before.  There are two standardized tests that potential teachers have to take before they apply to a credential program: the CBEST (California Basic Educational Skills Test) and the CSET (California Subject Examinations Test).  For the CBEST, there are 3 sections: reading comprehension, math (with no calculator allowed), and writing.  For the CSET, there are multiple sections: math, english, science, history, art, literature, music – all the things within a contained classroom (like in elementary school).  Since California is so PARANOID, the exam that has less material (the CBEST) is ultimately required.  How can it be that an exam that covers LESS material be the one that’s required?

Sadly, for the CBEST, I only managed to pass the writing section.  I’m not a strong writer, but I used a lot of examples and related to a real-life experience, which is probably why I did so well.  The math section does not allow the use of a calculator, which means I have to do everything by hand.  I like math, but the math in this section I never covered in college, and I struggled to complete math problems that I solved in high school.  I’m not good with reading comprehension either, as I noticed when looking at old STAR test scores.  So, I’m stuck taking this test AGAIN.  However, with the CSET, I passed EVERYTHING on the first try.  I even traveled 30 miles out of my way because there was no local test areas.  Thankfully, for the CBEST, I’ll have more time because I won’t be rushing to get to work and I can take my time to double check answers and everything.  Even if I pass this second time, I still won’t know what to do with my life.  Well, at least I’ll have the summer to figure it all out.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on May 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
