Overwhelmed…

As graduation approaches, school, work, and life are becoming overwhelming.  There are so many things to do, but not enough time to do it all.  I can do everything at my own pace, but I can’t be rushed or mistakes happen.  Since I’m not participating in my department’s graduation planning, I’m stuck paying $120 (out of my own pocket) for it, which is really unfair because NO ONE should have to pay to graduate, considering how much tuition is, how much housing is, and how much parking is.  I mean, paying $40 for the cap and gown is okay because it’s something everyone is going to do.  I’d go to the club meetings and everything if they were more convenient.  I don’t live in San Jose; I live at home.  It’s a 100 mile round trip, and with gas at $3.00+ a gallon, I can’t afford to be driving to San Jose for unnecessary things.  Not to mention, the Monday meetings are in the evening, and I’m not going to stay around at school for a meeting that late after my classes are over.  I go to school and go home.  Staying at school is just a waste of my time.

I don’t think I’m going to get my graduate school applications done on time.  There is so much to do, and I was never that close to any of my professors to get a recommendation from them.  I also have to get multiple copies of my transcript, which I should probably drop off at the Student Services Center next week.  Every school has different requirements, and I haven’t even settled on how many schools I want to apply to.  *sigh*  Not to mention, applications ARE NOT FREE!  At this rate, I’m not going to be able to do anything because I’m going to be broke from graduate school applications.  I may end up taking a semester or a year off from school and to work and to gain more experience because there is no way I’ll be able to make any of the deadlines.  Of course, if I had finished college in 4 years, I’d be done with graduate school, but since I didn’t know what I wanted to do, this is the consequence I must face.  Constant homework and reading this semester is preventing me from spending any time to do my applications, and when I do have free time, I find myself trying to enjoy my free time.  I barely get the reading done because it’s all research and not facts, not to mention the reading isn’t very exciting.  At this rate, I’m spending the majority of my time doing homework and reading, and very little time doing everything else.

I need a break.  Seriously.

~ by twilightmelfina on April 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
