Too much…

I’m practically on overload with all the things I have to do for school. Sure, there’s always a lot of reading, but this is much more than I expected for my last semester of college. I don’t mind reading the textbook, as it’s all facts and information, but all the reading from the course readers is straight research and it’s so difficult to understand and make sense of without losing my mind. It’s only three classes, but I’ve spent over $60 on course readers that I can’t return, and I’ll never know why they can never print pages in the same way for EVERY ARTICLE. I hate reading articles that are sideways because I lose my concentration all the time. *sigh* It’s so frustrating that I can never get the reading done on time. And then there are the write ups and the discussions, most of which I don’t know know what I’m writing about.

At this point, I haven’t even arranged with a classroom yet to do my fieldwork, and I’m already a week behind, according to the schedule. If you read one of my earlier entries, what school doesn’t have their principal on campus? It’s not even noon and the office staff tells me to email the principal. WHAT PRINCIPAL DOESN’T GO TO THEIR SCHOOL ON A DAILY BASIS? And the middle school I went to is asking for clearance when I asked them last time and had no problems. Why is it so hard now? Sure, I’ll be interacting with the students, but I did that last time too! I went to school here; why are there so many damn problems?!?! It really is getting me frustrated because I’m putting so much effort getting into a classroom and trying to do all this wordy reading that I haven’t even had the time to work on my graduate school applications. At this point, I’m not even going to make the deadline. And the worst part is that the majority of my work is ALWAYS due on Monday. I work Sundays. The traffic is the worst on Mondays. The weather isn’t that great, which means I have to prepare to leave early in order to beat the traffic. That means I have to go to sleep early, which means I don’t have much time to do homework. It hasn’t even been a month of school and I’m already overwhelmed. It’s not that I can’t get it done, but with all the reading, and the questions that are expected to answered, I just can’t put that into words. I blew off the first discussion with some crap because I had no time to finish the reading, so I just said something to get the credit, which is better than getting no credit at all. I know it wasn’t my best work, but with all this reading, and the questions that have to be answers, the discussions I have to involve myself in, I’m confused over what article goes with what class because it’s all about the same stuff! And when I go online to look at the online articles, there are like, a million parts that I’m NOT going to print out because it’s going to kill the printer.

To think that with 3 classes as a graduating senior, it would be like all my other child development classes. WRONG. There’s more reading in these 3 classes than any of my semesters with a full load of classes. All these non-returnable course readers which will end up being recycled because I have seriously no use for them after I graduate. What a waste of dead trees. And it would be really nice if there was a table of contents, page numbers, and articles all printed in the same direction.

Anyway, that’s enough complaining for now. Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on February 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
