It’s a dog eat dog world…

And people are mean as all hell these days.  I don’t really care who ends up reading this because I don’t plan on using names or anything like that, but I will let the world know my frustration towards the many things going on at school.  There is a reason why I don’t like group work – I either end up doing all the work or my schedule is so busy that I do what I can to contribute to the group, but I don’t get anything in return for it.  I can’t help it if I had other priorities, but I did my best to get things done.  Sure, it’s about time management and getting things done on time, but with a wedding and work, and driving back to school on a Monday morning in traffic, I’m worrying more about my safety and sanity than the project I had no time to work on.  I’m sorry if I couldn’t meet with the group on the same Sunday as the wedding, but maybe a different day should have been chosen.  I’m just really frustrated because I got absolutely no credit for doing even half of the work requested of me.  I didn’t get credit for doing the paper (I didn’t even have time to write), and I didn’t get credit for doing the presentation, even though I was there that day.  If you want to know why I didn’t have a part in the presentation, I was NOT THERE when the group met to make the presentation because I was 60 miles away at a wedding.  I’m not going to apologize for not being there because the wedding had higher priority than the project itself at that particular time.  I’m definitely going to be choosing a different group this time because I don’t want to work with people like the group I had from the previous project.  This is why I don’t give out my phone number for group projects because I don’t want people calling me to get the work done, and I’m better off using email than getting constant phone calls.  *sigh*  Now that I’ve written about all this, I feel a little better, but nothing is going to change because now I have to work harder in this class so I can get my grade back up to where it was before.  Sure, I didn’t do to well in the first midterm, so I need to do better in the next two exams and the upcoming assignments.  I usually don’t rant and complain like this, but I don’t feel bad for not doing my part because I just didn’t have the time.  And we spent so much time talking about other things in class that we never had a chance work on the project in the class.  In the end, I’m better off working alone than in groups, but if there’s something you want me to do, you’ve got to be specific about it, or it’s not going to be done at all, and it’s up to my schedule whether I put any effort into it.

Anyway, until the next rant…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 30, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
