Birthday celebrations, among other things…

Seeing other people’s birthdays being celebrated makes me wonder about the kind of people we are. I haven’t been to a birthday celebration in years, unless you count my boyfriend Ryan and his family’s birthdays, but that’s already a given. I didn’t celebrate my birthday this year because I was studying abroad in China. Sure, the people in my group celebrated for me, but I still would have wanted something at home. I haven’t bothered to celebrate my birthday because no one is ever around in the summer, and I’m not a little kid anymore. I like gifts, yes, but recognition on my birthday is all I would really like because it shows that other people care and know when my birthday is. Since I’ve been with Ryan, I’ve only celebrated with him. I haven’t gone anywhere or done anything extravagant, mainly because I can’t afford to. But then I think about whose birthday celebrations I’ve been invited to, especially of people I’ve known for years. In the end, I’ve stopped caring about who I spend time with because I’m either with Ryan or at the store, or with Ryan at the store. It just doesn’t really matter to me anymore because my entire world does not consist of many people.

In fact, I haven’t voted in some elections because I don’t have time for them, and if I spend time reading about what people want to do, I could be doing other productive things. I don’t really care about politics – at all. In fact, it’s on my list of things that I don’t worry about, which includes religion, jury duty, and anything else that is government or politically-related. I haven’t been to jury duty in years, and I think that’s because I haven’t voted in several elections. Voting puts you into the court system, and since I haven’t been voting, I’m not in the system to be pulled as a potential juror. The last election I made time for was in 2000, when I was still in high school and could actually make it to the polling area. I’m graduating in the spring from college, and I don’t have time to vote, especially in a different county. I’m from Contra Costa County, but I’m not registered to vote in Santa Clara County, where I go to school. This is why I can tell all those obnoxious people who tell me to register I can’t register because I’m not from this area. I don’t think it would do me any good to register myself in another county when I’m not going to be here much longer. Besides, my place of residence isn’t going to change until I have a place of my own, and that is going to be awhile. But, since we are voting for a new governor this year, it makes me wonder if I should do my job as a US citizen and vote. However, if I don’t vote, it’s not the end of the world for me. I’ll just go on with my life and just wait until the next election…in 2008.

Anyway, until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on October 28, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
