And the world comes to a standstill…

With the untimely death of Australia’s “Crocodile Hunter.” Well, I don’t think the world came to a standstill, but it is a shock because I used to watch the show all the time. It hasn’t on lately, from what I’ve noticed, but I’ve learned a lot about Australia and all its creatures. His job is dangerous, but he loved being around the animals and telling people about them in their natural environment. For someone who has a love of animals, I will miss him very much. May he rest in peace.

But this is not the first death of the year I have been aware of; there have been three others. First was my friend’s father, and I still feel bad for her and her family because he’ll never see her graduate or get married. But I know that she is a strong individual and that she’s moved on, but I know that she will always keep memories of her father in her heart.

The next death is of a game distribution representative who was killed in a motorcycle accident. I don’t know much of the details, but from the things I have read, he was a great guy and will be missed very much. People who knew him wrote about the kind of person he was and other really nice things.

The last death is from San Jose. Many people who have gone or go to SJSU have died in some way, but it happened so close to the beginning of the semester. A member of a Latino fraternity was killed in a car accident, and I’ve read that they will be doing a lot of work in his memory. I’ve lost count on how many people have died, but it seems like the school is cursed or something because all these bad things keep happening. One girl died over the weekend a few years back; she apparently had an undiagnosed heart problem. Another girl, who I knew for two seasons in colorguard, already had a known problem, and died in the spring about 2 years ago.

Death is inevitable, but taking care of yourself and what you do in life can keep you out of danger’s way. This isn’t the first parent funeral I’ve been to; I went to one in high school as well. It was sad because we were very close the family and I grew up with one of the kids. But when the problem is genetic, there’s nothing anyone can do about it. I just hope that friends and family of the people who die untimely deaths will find ways to move on.

With that, I end this here. Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on September 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
