Another update about school

Well, it has officially been a week of school.  The assignments are starting pile on, but I’m doing my best to stay on top of everything, including the reading of textbooks that make absolutely no sense to me.  Try reading a grammar book – it’s almost like a foreign language!  It’s not like the literacy textbooks I have to read are anymore interesting.  My classes are filled with so much reading, and none of it is very exciting.  I actually have homework I need to do over the weekend, so while I’m at work, I’ll probably also have a notebook open in my lap, trying to understand what I’m supposed to be writing about, as well as taking care of the store.  There is no break for this weekend, as time management will be extremely crucial for me this semester.  I still haven’t finished my flashcards for my Greek and Latin roots, so I’ll be doing that at work, along with everything else I’m going to attempt to finish while still putting in enough effort.  You’d think teachers would let students take a break for a school holiday, but they still make you work!  I feel that I only have one difficult class, but all my other classes are very filled with things I have to do.  Even that GoBinder thing I have isn’t helping me.  Well, at least it was free software.  I’d have it open all the time, but the software sometimes crashes and it becomes very frustrating.  It works for me – somehow.  I know I don’t have everything under control yet (I still need to figure out where to put my giant dry erase board), but with time, I’m sure I’ll adjust to everything…

So many books to read over the weekend, probably while I’m at work, as well as writing due when we get back…don’t teachers know that we’re NOT going to do any work during a holiday?  But there’s nothing we can do about it because I know I can’t fall behind – the credential program I get into depends on this academic year’s grades.  I have no choice but to do well, and even though a goal of a 3.0 GPA is unrealistic, it is not impossible.  I know I’m smart, and I know I can do the work.  I just need to plan ahead and figure out how to do everything without burning out.  With the peace and quiet I’ve been having in the Village, I can do so much more without being interrupted or bothered.  It’s a bit lonely, but nothing I can’t handle.

Anyway, until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 31, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
