End of summer chit chat

It’s hard to believe that school is starting again so soon. Even June went by in a flash, and I spent every moment I could with my boyfriend Ryan or at the store. Technically, I should have been at the daycare, but quality time with Ryan was much more important than playing with kids, considering that I left him on his own for an entire month while I was in China. Although I have been to China many times, this is probably the first time I’ve really appreciated the things I have at home – clean water, normal bathrooms, non-oily food, among other things. Being home (or at Ryan’s home) is what I enjoy most because it is what I am familiar and comfortable with. Why be anywhere else? Where else can I go that will provide for my needs? I wouldn’t go anywhere else, and I am thankful for everything I have at home and all the things I have access to. Without these things, I think I would lose my mind. For everyone else on the trip, I think they were thankful to finally be home because of the clean air and better food. I am very thankful for the clean air, although my allergies will get me again in the spring. I’m glad I’m not going back to China for awhile; I need a break from such a fast growing country. It’s great to go there to understand all the Chinese history that schools never cover until you’re in college, but going there in 2003, 2005, and now 2006, it’s too much for me. And then I’ll be back for the 2008 Olympics. But I’ll have a good break. =)

But school…wow, this is my last year and I’ll finally have my degree. I know that I’m behind everyone else I graduated with from high school, but while some people knew what they wanted to do once they got to a 4-year school, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do. I didn’t experience anything that would have pointed me in the right direction. As much as I love business, I couldn’t understand the one class I took and forgot about being a business major. I love science, but animal behavior and biology is what I know best. Chemistry is like a foreign language to me. I like people, but a sociology degree would get me nowhere. So, the next best thing was to work with kids, since I play games and a lot of kids come into the store. That’s why I love my job – I am able to share my knowledge and experience of games with the kids (and the parents). My classroom is going to be filled with games so that kids have multiple ways of learning. Every person has different ways of learning, and I’m going to take advantage of the multiple intelligences.

It’s hard to believe that summer went by so fast, considering that I spent the majority of it in China and away from all the things that are familiar to me. I’m glad to be finally home, although somewhat excited to be going back to school. I’m moving in by myself since my parents will be busy. Now I wish I owned a hybrid car because driving to San Jose and back takes a lot of gas! And one of the regular Star Wars guys, his girlfriend would be in the MBA program at San Jose, so I might be able to hang out with her and stuff. It looks like she already has a parking permit, but I might get one, I don’t know. I just have to wait and see, since my parents paid for one while I was still in China. There are limited parking spots in the Campus Village garage, but I’ll just have to hope.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on August 11, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
