An update in life

I found out from the lady who does all the eBay stuff at my work that my high school is having their grad night AT SCHOOL.  That is so lame.  Why?  My grad night was on the USS Hornet and a cruise around the bay.  Sure, it cost a bit, but it was well worth it.  I would like to crash it next year, but only if the grad night is held at school again.  I wanted to crash it this year, but I didn't know anyone who was around and I had no resources to have a little fun.  I -could- have borrowed Ryan's sniper rifle that he uses for paintball, but I doubt I could aim across a parking lot, especially in the dark.  Yes, I know it's illegal and all that other stuff, but aren't we supposed to have fun after graduation?  *eViL gRiN* 

It's hard to believe that I'm leaving in about two weeks for this abroad program.  I drove out 120 miles (60 miles each way) for a meeting that only lasted 30 minutes and 2 people plus the professor were not there.  It was fine going there, but a wreck coming back because of the heat and the traffic.  I'm not big on driving long distances in this weather because I can fall asleep and that wouldn't be a good thing.  I'm nervous because all the other people are absolutely clueless about what they're doing, and all the things they worry about they don't need to worry about because it's not that bad.  No website or book is going to tell you how to dress or act in a particular country, but doing some research is always recommended.  Cruise ship itineraries always have dress codes because of the locations visited; wearing shorts and a tank top to a religious building is absolutely forbidden because it shows no respect towards that culture.  This trip is going to teach a lot about independence as well as expand my own understanding of the culture from a student's perspective rather than a tourist perspective. 

Things in life have been steady.  I visit my work almost every day because if I'm not with Ryan, I'm at the store.  I know, I don't have much of a life, but there's not much to do at home anyway.  The weather is getting hot, so maybe I'll finally get a chance to clean my car like I said I would. 

What I think about the World Cup: I'm not caring much about it right now because soccer isn't a sport I'm going watch day after day.  The last time I came in contact with soccer players was in my senior English class.  I know, that was a very long time ago.  Other than that, I doubt the US team will advance because they already lost their first game and tied their second, which means they have to win their next game in order to advance.  The problem?  They are play Ghana, a really good team.  I'll probably watch some of the games in China if I get the chance.           

Anyway, that's all for now.  Hopefully I'll update again before I leave.  Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on June 18, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
