Horoscope for June 10, 2006

Sometimes friends become a person's real family.  Your friendships, in particular, are deep and enduring.  Many people are eager to give their help today, why are you reluctant to receive it?  Haven't you been the one promoting the benefits of warm and sincere friendships?  The day ahead makes you aware of your talents, and reinforces just how important friendships are…

Personally, I've had trouble having worthwhile friendships.  I've always believed that you should be friends with people who share your interests, but that you shouldn't limit yourself and always expand when you get the chance.  However,  I know I'm not like most girls; even Ryan calls me a tomboy because I like a lot of the things that guys like.  I've never had a problem with that until recently because my parents are wondering why I hardly have female friends.  I'll tell you why – it's difficult to find girls who like the same things I do, especially in the area.  Sure, I love the mall, but I'm not a fashion person who knows what's in and what's out.  But all those girly things…I try to avoid them because it's not me.  I did color guard for 2 seasons; before that, I never owned any makeup.  And even now, I don't wear it because I don't need to.  I think the reason why guys find it easy to talk to me is because I like the same things they do, and don't get embarrassed or feel like an idiot when I say or do stupid things.  If a guy asked me to play Halo 2 with him and his friends and a girl asked me to go shopping with her friends, which one do you think I would pick? 

As for making friends within my major, it's nearly impossible.  Why?  My major is mostly women, and they are either too feminine or too business-like, and well, I don't deal well with those types of people.  Sure, I remember faces semester to semester, but I don't remain friends with them because we don't have anything in common.  I will honestly say that most of the people I have met in classes are just acquaintances; after the semester is over, I don't really keep in touch with them. 

As for the organization and the concept of friendship…it's a touchy subject.  One, I'd get emails up the wazoo if people found out I was trashing the organization, and two, the more I say, the worse it gets.  But I'll say one thing – you don't buy friends when you join a fraternity or sorority.  Sure, it costs money to join, but how do you think everything is paid for?  Membership fees and activity fees pay for everything the organization and its people do.

However, since people are constantly changing, friendships change too.  I can only really say this about myself because everyone else I've known growing up has changed so much, and I'm still the same person, regardless of the situation.  I like change, but I also like consistency.  In the end, I like being around people who share the same interests I do. 

Anyway, until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on June 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
