Summer break

Well, summer break is here, and I think my body is finally realizing that I'm not in school anymore.  I was done with my final exams before many people, so technically tomorrow, Wednesday, is the last day of finals and Saturday is graduation.  As much as I would like to be there for my friends who are graduating, I already made prior arrangements with other people.  I'm still wondering if I should have taken my CHAD 163 final on its original date, but it was nice to get it out of the way a week early and be able to tell other people about the test (even though I know we're not supposed to). 

Anyway, if you recall in my first post for the month, I was talking about how much I had used my phone since I got it in January.  I just wanted to make an update, since it is close to the end of the month.  As of tonight, I have made or have received 1816 calls and have used 300 hours and 21 minutes of talk time.  If I had minutes in a plan, I'd max it out in less than a week.  So, in the span of almost a month (since my last update), there have been 314 calls (incoming and outgoing) consisting of about 41 hours and 19 minutes.  If you think about that, I have been on the phone for almost 2 days straight in less than a month.  I hope to make an update every month, but when I am out of town in July, I will not be able update for the entire month.

Except for my trip abroad, I will either be with my boyfriend, at work, or at the daycare.  I like working with kids, but I really want to get something out of it besides the experience.  It's why I wanted to be a camp counselor – make money and work with older kids, probably like the ones I would be teaching in the future.  I know it would take away a lot of my time during the week, but this camp job pays WELL and it is very local (the camp is held at Lafayette Reservoir).  Maybe next summer (after I graduate), so I can always plan ahead.  I want to do these things for my career because I know the experience will help me in the future. 

The weather has been strange (it RAINED the other day), so my body has not been able to adjust to the fact that I am not in school, and my allergies have been somewhat under control because of the wet weather.  I don't know what I'm so stressed about, but I think it's because I wasn't looking forward to summer break, and just did my days at school like I had always done them.  I was under pressure to do well during exams, but I think that I started my vacation so early was a shock to my body.

Oh, and it was a stomach virus that went around my dorm, and I was lucky that I didn't get it.  I don't know how everyone else got it, but since I go home on the weekends, that must have been the major outbreak.  If it had been food poisoning, the entire school would be under quarantine.  The food at the dining commons has improved so much, ever since they got the new chef.  I like how they do custom dishes now, so it's better than eating at Subway all the time – that made me FAT!  I hope to lose all this weight before school starts again, but with the way I eat, my weight probably won't change much.  *gRiN*

Anyway, until next time… 

~ by twilightmelfina on May 23, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
