It feels weird…

It feels weird being at home when school technically isn't over yet and graduation hasn't even occurred yet.  Somehow, my parents and I managed to fit all my crap into the car, and the ride home was quiet with some rattling in the back.  Thankfully, nothing fell on me, not like last time when my parents made a sharp turn and something (I don't remember what it was) fell on me; I was sleeping and it woke me up, scaring the crap out of me.  I'll be living in a studio apartment next year, so I'll have less space, which means I have to bring less stuff.  I'm leaving the desktop at home – it's for the best because just bringing it to school and home is 3 boxes – cables, monitor box, and CPU.  That's why we have laptops – one cable for everything.  However, I'll probably bring the speakers so I don't blow out the ones on the laptop.  I'll have to install the printer, but that's easy.  I'm also going to install the Nero burning software, since I like how it works and I use it all the time to burn my anime.  It's also easier to use; I looked at the other program and it was too complicated.  The thing is, I don't want to use this small laptop as a DVD burner, but I don't have much of a choice since I'll be returning the DVD burner to Ryan sooner or later. 

As for the people I didn't really get a chance to say goodbye to, I apologize; I was being hustled out by my parents so we could get home before midnight with all the crap in the car.  Of course, peace out, hang loose, and rock on. =)  I'm on summer break so to speak, but it was raining!  The damp weather is friendly on my nose, since there is more moisture in the air and less pollen crap going in my nose.  I'll miss people over break, but we'll somehow stay in contact.  I'll probably see them around campus somewhere, and we'll catch up on old memories. 

I have my Fall 2006 schedule already planned out – with a 3 day weekend included.  I have NO Friday classes (just the way I like it), and all my classes start at 10:30am at the earliest.  I refuse to get up early any more, although I'll have to do that once I become a teacher because elementary schools do not start at 10:30 in the morning!  9am classes were not fun, and neither were its 7:15am crack-of-dawn finals.  I hardly had any caffeine in my system and did not have a cup available for coffee. =(  I need to get a cool travel mug.  I looked into my Spring 2007 classes, and I knew I would have a lab for my CHAD 159 class in which I'll be placed with a teacher to do some hands-on work/student teaching.  It's going to be a great experience, so I only have 2 other classes planned for spring so I can get these hours accomplished.  Sadly, while I like the beginning of the semester, I don't like any other part of the semester because of midterms and final exams.  I'll finally be able to start off Fall 2006 with good note taking skills because I'll have a laptop and I won't fall behind when I don't write fast enough.  Sure, the small keyboard slows me down a bit, but I've gotten used to it.  I'll try not to print out that much stuff because in the span of ONE ACADEMIC YEAR, I went through 5 black ink cartridges.  I don't even know if the one in the printer is the 5th or 6th cartridge.  My CHAD 163 class cost me the most ink because I couldn't print Powerpoint slides effectively on both sides (it takes too long to do it one by one), so I printed them all one side, and that wasted a lot of ink and a lot of paper.  I don't want to know how many trees I killed this semester.  =( 
I don't like studying my notes off a computer screen, so I guess I'll have to do some minimal printing.  *sigh*  I'm trying to save trees and the amount of ink I use.  All those damn articles I had to read/write about took up a lot of ink too. 

Now that summer is here, I'll be able to work on a more consistent basis, but that's no guarantee.  The China trip looks like it is a definite go, so I'll be spending the month of July across the Pacific Ocean.  As much as I hate missing birthdays (Ryan's birthday, my mom's birthday, and my own), this trip will do some good for me, such as in the case of my not-so-stellar language skills and a chance to think about issues at home without interruptions by people from home.  I'm scared/nervous/excited all at once, but I feel sad about going because I won't be able to see Ryan for an entire month.  I want him to be tough because I love him with all my heart and nothing will ever change that.

As for selling textbooks back, I got $300+ because I had an extra 10% coupon for Robert's Bookstore.  Spartan Bookstore wasn't doing that, so I got an extra $28 along with the $288 for my books.  For the time I spent in line, it was definitely a good deal.  I tried sharing the coupon with others, but I don't think people were that interested.  *sigh*  Oh well.  Not my problem when you get ripped off by Spartan Bookstore.  *gRiN*

Anyway, I'm tired, my back is killing me from all the packing I did (all the leaning over and bending), so I'm going to go get some rest.     

~ by twilightmelfina on May 20, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
