A tragic loss

People are not supposed to die this young, when they haven't even seen their children graduate from college or get married.  This is in the case of one of my closest friends, Bonnie, whose father passed away May 7, 2006.  The memorial service was yeseterday, at the same place where my family had my grandmother's service.  It is also the same place where my dog Morgan peed on the lawn.  We didn't know we weren't supposed to bring pets to the cemetary, so now there's a sign.  Either we missed it the first time around or we've become more aware of our surroundings.  Many people from Chinese school came, as well as people I haven't in months/years.  For the many of us who danced together, it hit the hardest because we were always a close group.  I'm just glad that I could be there for my friend because that's what she deserves the most right now.  But I know she is a tough woman, and she will move on and keep memories of her father in her heart.

Since my junior year of high school, I have been to 4 funerals, including this one.  The only thing I know that it's telling me about my life is that I shouldn't take it for granted and really take care of myself and my family.  I'm not close to any of my relatives, which means it's harder for me to have familial support.  Although I said at the last funeral I went to (which was around my 21st birthday) that I didn't want to go to anymore funerals, you can't avoid them.  People will die, and we can learn from their passing the meaning of our own lives.  The pain of each funerals lives in my heart, but I try not to think about it so much.  But we remember the kind of life each individual has lived, and the effect they had on people's lives.  These people are always in our memories, and we should never forget them.  That is why, in my last journal entry, I truly believe in the last line of the Saint Francis prayer:

"And it is in dying that we are born into eternal life."

I believe this came from a Dear Abby column a few years back, and it has a lot of meaning to whoever reads it.  And even when someone passes on, they will always be watching over us.  My heart goes out to all the families of the funerals I have attended, even my own family because of my grandmothers on both sides of the family. 

Anyway, I'll probably write another entry in the next few days…I hope…

~ by twilightmelfina on May 14, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
