School is is starting…and some MechWarrior fun…

It’s hard to believe that school is starting again so soon…it just seems like yesterday that I just moved out for winter break. Am I excited? Somewhat, considering I have one more year before I graduate. I would be done if I knew what I wanted to do, but it took me awhile to figure everything out. It feels weird being back at school, considering that the only thing I missed were the custom made salads at the Market Cafe. I enjoyed the hot showers at home, unlike at school, where the water temperature fluctuates (like my shower today). I’m also realizing that with the nice weather in San Jose, everything in my closet is black and long-sleeve. I left all my summer stuff at home, thinking it would be cold, and it was like 60 degrees outside today. So, the next time I go home, I have to bring all those shirts so I don’t run out of clothes. That would NOT be a good thing.

As for Christmas…it was all work and play – with my boyfriend, of course. As for gifts, I will honestly say that I’ve stopped asking and caring about what I would like for Christmas. Of course, if anyone ever wants to buy me anything for any occasion, I have a wishlist on Amazon.com. It’s made so other people know what I like without having to guess. It’s one less thing to worry about when it comes to buying things for other people.

As for things I did over break, I played MechWarrior, something my boyfriend thought I wouldn’t try, but I did, and I had a lot of fun. You sit in this “pod,” and basically, you’re the pilot of a mech (mine is a Vulture), and you get to shoot other mechs. My call sign is Osiris and my mech looks like a really big robotic chicken (it runs really funny). My boyfriend said I improved a lot since my first time, since I have a tendency to be a suicide runner, running into any enemy point blank, firing all my weapons, and when I explode, I take them out with me. It’s not an efficient way to get points, but it prevents the enemy from getting a kill. The most recent “podding” session was quite exciting, since I managed to kill the mech with the TOUGHEST armor (a Templar) 4 times in the second map. The damn Loki wouldn’t die when I shot it at point blank AND I had it cornered against a building. I need to work on my aim, but for someone who was never good at first-person shooting games (like Halo and Republic Commando), I’m actually doing okay in MechWarrior. I look forward to the next time I can play with my boyfriend and his friends (or anyone else who’s there). We’re planning to do all day gaming on our birthdays…it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Here are some pictures of the mechs we use in the game:
This is the MadCat; my boyfriend uses this one.

MadCat

Here’s mine, a Vulture:

vulture.jpg

Mine does NOT have this paint job; I took it off a website so other people know what it looks like. In the game, we can change our paint jobs to the kind of map we’re using, so this is not the exact model of the Vulture I use, but it’s similar.

I tried to get a picture of the Templar, but the site put a watermark over it. =(
So, I got a picture of the Loki, the one who wouldn’t die when I had it cornered against a building:

loki.jpg

I could put up the script to our missions (each game we played was 30 minutes each), but I think my hands would fall off.

Until next time…

~ by twilightmelfina on January 23, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
